Saturday, May 18, 2024

The 2022 Georgia Film Critics Association (GFCA) Winners

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GFCA) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2022. Here are this year’s winners…

Best Picture
After Yang
The Banshees of Inisherin
Decision to Leave
Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
The Fabelmans
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Top Gun: Maverick” (RUNNER UP)

Best Director
Decision to Leave” – Park Chan-wook
Everything Everywhere All at Once” – Daniels (Dan Kwan, Daniel Scheinert) (WINNER)
The Fabelmans” – Steven Spielberg (RUNNER UP)
Nope” – Jordan Peele
Tár” – Todd Field

Best Actor
Austin Butler (“Elvis”)
Colin Farrell (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) (WINNER)
Brendan Fraser (“The Whale”) (RUNNER UP)
Park Hae-il (“Decision to Leave”)
Paul Mescal (“Aftersun”)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett (“Tár”) (RUNNER UP)
Danielle Deadwyler (“Till”)
Tang Wei (“Decision to Leave”)
Michelle Williams (“The Fabelmans”)
Michelle Yeoh (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actor
Brendan Gleeson (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) (RUNNER UP)
Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”)
Judd Hirsch (“The Fabelmans”)
Barry Keoghan (“The Banshees of Inisherin”)
Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actress
Angela Bassett (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
Kerry Condon (“The Banshees of Inisherin”)
Jamie Lee Curtis (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”)
Stephanie Hsu (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) (WINNER)
Janelle Monáe (“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”) (RUNNER UP)
Keke Palmer (“Nope”)

Best Original Screenplay
The Banshees of Inisherin” – Martin McDonagh (RUNNER UP)
Everything Everywhere All at Once” – Daniels (Dan Kwan, Daniel Scheinert) (WINNER)
The Fabelmans” – Steven Spielberg, Tony Kushner
Nope” – Jordan Peele
Tár” – Todd Field

Best Adapted Screenplay
After Yang” – Kogonada
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” – Rian Johnson (WINNER)
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” – Guillermo del Toro, Matthew Robbins, Gris Grimly, Patrick McHale (RUNNER UP)
She Said” – Rebecca Lenkiewicz
Women Talking” – Sarah Polley, Miriam Toews

Best Cinematography
Bardo: False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths” – Darius Khondji
The Batman” – Greig Fraser (RUNNER UP)
The Fabelmans” – Janusz Kaminski
Nope” – Hoyte Van Hoytema
Top Gun: Maverick” – Claudio Miranda (WINNER)

Best Production Design
Avatar: The Way of Water” – Dylan Cole, Ben Procter, Vanessa Cole
Babylon” – Florencia Martin, Anthony Carlino (WINNER)
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” – Hannah Beachler, Lisa K. Sessions
Elvis” – Catherine Martin, Karen Murphy, Beverley Dunn
Everything Everywhere All at Once” – Jason Kisvarday, Kelsi Ephraim (RUNNER UP)

Best Original Score
Babylon” – Justin Hurwitz (RUNNER UP)
The Batman” – Michael Giacchino (WINNER)
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” – Ludwig Göransson
The Fabelmans” – John Williams
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” – Alexandre Desplat
Nope” – Michael Abels

Best Original Song
“Carolina” – Taylor Swift (“Where the Crawdads Sing”)
“Ciao Papa” – Alexandre Desplat, Roeban Katz, Guillermo del Toro (“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”)
“Hold My Hand” – Lady Gaga, BloodPop, Benjamin Rice (“Top Gun: Maverick”) (WINNER)
“Lift Me Up” – Tems, Rihanna, Ludwig Göransson, Ryan Coogler (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
“Naatu Naatu” – M.M. Keeravani, Kaala Bhairava, Rahul Sipligunj (“RRR”) (RUNNER UP)

Best Ensemble
The Banshees of Inisherin
Everything Everywhere All at Once” (RUNNER UP)
The Fabelmans
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” (WINNER)
Women Talking

Best International Film
All Quiet on the Western Front
Argentina 1985
Decision to Leave” (RUNNER UP)

Best Animated Film
Apollo 10 ½: A Space Age Childhood
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (WINNER)
Marcel the Shell with Shoes On” (RUNNER UP)
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish
Turning Red

Best Documentary Film
All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Descendant” (RUNNER UP)
Fire of Love” (WINNER)
Good Night Oppy

Breakthrough Award
Danielle Deadwyler (WINNER TIE)
Stephanie Hsu (WINNER TIE)
Tenoch Huerta
Gabriel Labelle (RUNNER UP)
Amber Midthunder

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
“Bad Dream” (short; Camilo Diaz Caro, Colby Hollman)
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert Cole)
Devotion” (J.D. Dillard, Jake Crane, Jonathan Stewart)
Emergency” (Carey Williams, K.D. Dávila)
“Glitter Ain’t Gold” (short; Christian Nolan Jones)
Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.” (Adamma Ebo)
I Want You Back” (Jason Orley, Isaac Aptaker, Elizabeth Berger)
The Menu” (Mark Mylod, Seth Reiss, Will Tracy) (RUNNER UP)
“Refuge” (Erin Levin Bernhardt, Din Blankenship)
Till” (Chinonye Chukwu, Michael Reilly, Keith Beauchamp) (WINNER)

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews