Sunday, July 14, 2024

The 2022 San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) Winners

The San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) (formerly known as the San Francisco Film Critics Circle) have announced their winners for the best in film for 2022. Here are this year’s winners…

Best Picture
Everything Everywhere All at Once” (HONORABLE MENTION)

The Banshees of Inisherin” (WINNER)
The Fabelmans
Women Talking

Best Director
Charlotte Wells, “Aftersun
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once
Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking
Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans
Todd Field, “TÁR

Best Original Screenplay
Charlotte Wells, “Aftersun
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once
Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Todd Field, “TÁR
Tony Kushner, Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans

Best Adapted Screenplay
Kazuo Ishiguro, “Living
Rebecca Lenkiewicz, “She Said
Rian Johnson, “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Samuel D. Hunter, “The Whale
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking

Best Actor
Austin Butler, “Elvis
Bill Nighy, “Living
Brendan Fraser, “The Whale
Colin Farrell, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Paul Mescal, “Aftersun

Best Actress
Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal
Cate Blanchett, “TÁR
Danielle Deadwyler, “Till
Emma Thompson, “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande
Mia Goth, “Pearl
Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actor
Anthony Hopkins, “Armageddon Time
Barry Keoghan, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Ben Whishaw, “Women Talking
Brendan Gleeson, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once
Tom Hanks, “Elvis

Best Supporting Actress
Angela Bassett, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Claire Foy, “Women Talking
Dolly De Leon, “Triangle of Sadness
Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (TIE)
Kerry Condon, “The Banshees of Inisherin” (TIE)
Nina Hoss, “TÁR

Best Animated Feature
Apollo 10½: A Space Age Childhood
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Marcel the Shell With Shoes On
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish
Turning Red

Best International Feature Film
All Quiet on the Western Front
Argentina, 1985
Decision to Leave

Best Documentary Feature
All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Bad Axe
Fire of Love
Good Night Oppy

Best Cinematography
Ben Davis, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Claudio Miranda, “Top Gun: Maverick
Florian Hoffmeister, “TÁR
Janusz Kaminski, “The Fabelmans
Kim Ji-yong, “Decision to Leave
Linus Sandgren, “Babylon

Best Production Design
Florencia Martin (production designer), Anthony Carlino (set decorator), “Babylon
Hannah Beachler (production designer), Lisa K. Sessions (set decorator), “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Jason Isvarday (production designer), Kelsi Ephraim (set decorator), “Everything Everywhere All at Once
Mark Tildesley (production designer), Michael Standish (set decorator), “The Banshees of Inisherin
Rick Heinrichs (production designer), Elli Griff (set decorator), “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Best Film Editing
Blair McClendon, “Aftersun
Eddie Hamilton, “Top Gun: Maverick
Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Monika Willi, “TÁR
Paul Rogers, “Everything Everywhere All at Once
Tom Cross, “Babylon

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat, “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Carter Burwell, “The Banshees of Inisherin
Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Women Talking
John Williams, “The Fabelmans
Justin Hurwitz, “Babylon

Special Citation for Independent Cinema

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews