Friday, July 19, 2024

The 2022 Seattle Film Critics Society (SFCS) Nominations

The Seattle Film Critics Society (SFCS) have announced their nominations representing the best in film for 2022. The winners will be revealed on January 17th. Here are this year’s nominees…

Best Picture
Aftersun (A24)
The Banshees of Inisherin (Searchlight)
Cha Cha Real Smooth (Apple TV+)
Decision to Leave (MUBI)
Everything Everywhere All At Once (A24)
The Fabelmans (Universal Pictures)
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Netflix)
Nope (Universal Pictures)
TÁR (Focus Features)
Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount Pictures)

Best Director
Todd Field – TÁR
Joseph Kosinski – Top Gun: Maverick
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All At Once
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Austin Butler – Elvis
Tom Cruise – Top Gun: Maverick
Colin Farrell – The Banshees of Inisherin
Brendan Fraser – The Whale
Paul Mescal – Aftersun

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Cate Blanchett – TÁR
Danielle Deadwyler – Till
Mia Goth – Pearl
Margot Robbie – Babylon
Michelle Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Paul Dano – The Fabelmans
Brendan Gleeson – The Banshees of Inisherin
Brian Tyree Henry – Causeway
Barry Keoghan – The Banshees of Inisherin
Ke Huy Quan – Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Angela Bassett – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Kerry Condon – The Banshees of Inisherin
Stephanie Hsu – Everything Everywhere All At Once
Janelle Monáe – Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Keke Palmer – Nope

Best Ensemble Cast
The Banshees of Inisherin – Louise Kiely, casting director
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Sarah Halley Finn, casting director
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – Bret Howe, Mary Vernieu, casting directors
Top Gun: Maverick – Denise Chamian, casting director
Women Talking – John Buchan, Jason Knight, casting directors

Best Action Choreography
Avatar: The Way of Water
Everything Everywhere All At Once
The Northman
Top Gun: Maverick

Best Screenplay
The Banshees of Inisherin – Martin McDonagh
Decision to Leave – Park Chan-wook, Chung Seo-kyung
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – Rian Johnson
TÁR – Todd Field

Best Animated Feature
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio – Guillermo del Toro, Mark Gustafson, directors
Mad God – Phil Tippett, director
Marcel the Shell With Shoes On – Dean Fleischer-Camp, director
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish – Joel Crawford, director; Januel Mercado, co-director
Turning Red – Domee Shi, director

Best Documentary Feature
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed – Laura Poitras, director
Fire of Love – Sara Dosa, director
Good Night Oppy – Ryan White, directors
Navalny – Daniel Roher, director
Sweetheart Deal – Elisa Levine, Gabriel Miller, directors

Best Film Not in the English Language
All Quiet on the Western Front – Edward Berger, director
Decision to Leave – Park Chan-wook, director
EO – Jerzy Skolimowski, director
RRR – S.S. Rajamouli, director
Saint Omer – Alice Diop, director

Best Cinematography
Avatar: The Way of Water – Russell Carpenter
Decision to Leave – Kim Ji-yong
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Larkin Seiple
Nope – Hoyte van Hoytema
Top Gun: Maverick – Claudio Miranda

Best Costume Design
Babylon – Mary Zophres
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Ruth Carter
Elvis – Catherine Martin
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Shirley Kurata
The Northman – Linda Muir

Best Film Editing
Aftersun – Blair McClendon
Decision to Leave – Kim Sang-beom
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Paul Rogers
TÁR – Monika Willi
Top Gun: Maverick – Eddie Hamilton

Best Original Score
Babylon – Justin Hurwitz
The Banshees of Inisherin – Carter Burwell
The Batman – Michael Giacchino
The Fabelmans – John Williams
Nope – Michael Abels

Best Production Design
Babylon – Florencia Martin (Production Design); Anthony Carlino (Set Decoration)
Elvis – Catherine Martin, Karen Murphy (Production Design); Bev Dunn (Set Decoration)
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Jason Kisvarday (Production Design); Kelsi Ephraim (Set Decoration)
The Northman – Craig Lathrop (Production Design); Niamh Coulter (Set Decoration)
White Noise – Jess Gonchor (Production Design); Claire Kaufman (Set Decoration)

Best Visual Effects
Avatar: The Way of Water – Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon, Daniel Barrett
Everything Everywhere All At Once – Zak Stoltz, Ethan Feldbau, Benjamin Brewer, Jeff Desom
Nope – Guillaume Rocheron, Jeremy Robert, Sreejith Venugopalan, Scott R. Fisher
RRR – Srinivas Mohan, Pete Draper, Daniel French
Top Gun: Maverick – Ryan Tudhope, Scott R. Fisher, Seth Hill, Bryan Litson

Best Youth Performance (18 years of age or younger upon start of filming)
Vanessa Burghardt – Cha Cha Real Smooth
Anna Cobb – We’re All Going to the World’s Fair
Frankie Corio – Aftersun
Eden Dambrine – Close
Banks Repeta – Armageddon Time

Villain of the Year
Jean Jacket – Nope
Jobu Tupaki – Everything Everywhere All At Once – portrayed by Stephanie Hsu
Lydia Tár – TÁR – portrayed by Cate Blanchett
Pearl – X/Pearl, portrayed by Mia Goth
The Riddler/Edward Nashton – The Batman – portrayed by Paul Dano

2022 Achievement in Pacific Northwest Filmmaking
All Sorts, J. Rick Castañeda
Kimi, Steven Soderbergh
Know Your Place, Zia Mohajerjasbi
Sam Now, Reed Harkness
Sweetheart Deal, Elisa Levine, Gabriel Miller

What do you think of the nominations? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews