Wednesday, April 24, 2024

The 2022 Gotham Independent Film Award (GOTHAM) Winners

The 32nd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out this evening representing the best in independent film for 2022.

Best Feature
The Cathedral
Dos Estaciones
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Documentary Feature
All That Breathes
All The Beauty And The Bloodshed
I Didn’t See You There
The Territory
What We Leave Behind

Best International Feature
The Banshees Of Inisherin
Decision To Leave
Saint Omer

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun
Owen Kline – Funny Pages
Elegance Bratton – The Inspection
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic – Murina
Beth de Araújo – Soft & Quiet
Jane Schoenbrun – We’re All Going To The World’s Fair

Best Screenplay
After Yang – Kogonada
Armageddon Time – James Gray
Catherine Called Birdy – Lena Dunham
TÁR – Todd Field
Women Talking – Sarah Polley

Outstanding Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett – TÁR
Danielle Deadwyler – Till
Dale Dickey – A Love Song
Colin Farrell – After Yang
Brendan Fraser – The Whale
Paul Mescal – Aftersun
Thandiwe Newton – God’s Country
Aubrey Plaza – Emily The Criminal
Taylor Russell – Bones And All
Michelle Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All At Once

Outstanding Supporting Performance
Jessie Buckley – Women Talking
Raúl Castillo – The Inspection
Hong Chau – The Whale
Brian Tyree Henry – Causeway
Nina Hoss – TÁR
Noémie Merlant – TÁR
Ke Huy Quan – Everything Everywhere All At Once
Mark Rylance – Bones And All
Gabrielle Union – The Inspection
Ben Whishaw – Women Talking

Breakthrough Performer
Anna Cobb – We’re All Going To The World’s Fair
Frankie Corio – Aftersun
Anna Diop – Nanny
Gracija Filipovic – Murina
Kalie Reis – Catch The Fair One

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)
Abbott Elementary
As We See It
Rap Shit
Somebody Somewhere

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)
Station Eleven
This Is Going To Hurt

Outstanding Performance in a New Series
Bilal Baig – Sort Of
Ayo Edebiri – The Bear
Janelle James – Abbott Elementary
Minha Kim – Pachinko
Matilda Lawler – Station Eleven
Britt Lower – Severance
Melanie Lynskey – Yellowjackets
Zahn McClarnon – Dark Winds
Sue Ann Pien – As We See It
Ben Whishaw – This Is Going To Hurt

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series
The Andy Warhol Diaries
The Last Movie Stars
Mind Over Murder
The Rehearsal
We Need To Talk About Cosby

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews