Sunday, June 16, 2024

The 2022 Directors Guild Of America (DGA) Feature Film Nominations

The Directors Guild Of America (DGA) have announced their nominations representing the best in directing for 2022. The winners will be announced February 18th. Here are this year’s nominees…

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All At Once
Todd Field – Tár
Joseph Kosinski – Top Gun: Maverick
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin
Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans

Alice Diop – Saint Omer
Audrey Diwan – Happening
John Patton Ford – Emily The Criminal
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović – Murina
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

The documentary, television and commercial nominations were announced yesterday and can be read here.​

Looking at how the season has gone so far, here are all the directors who have scored major nominations (with BAFTA being the longest) this year:

Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin: BAFTA, CCA, DGA, GG
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All At Once: BAFTA, CCA, DGA, GG
Todd Field – Tár: BAFTA, CCA, DGA
Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans: CCA, DGA, GG
Baz Luhrmann – Elvis: BAFTA, CCA, GG
Joseph Kosinski – Top Gun: Maverick: BAFTA, DGA
Gina Prince-Bythewood – The Woman King: BAFTA, CCA
Sarah Polley – Women Talking: BAFTA, CCA
James Cameron – Avatar: The Way of Water: CCA, GG

Charlotte Wells – Aftersun: BAFTA
Edward Berger – All Quiet on the Western Front: BAFTA
Marie Kreutzer – Corsage: BAFTA
Park Chan-wook – Decision To Leave: BAFTA
Sara Dosa – Fire of Love: BAFTA
Colm Bairéad – The Quiet Girl: BAFTA
Alice Diop – Saint Omer: BAFTA
Maria Schrader – She Said: BAFTA
Chinonye Chukwu – Till: BAFTA
Damien Chazelle – Babylon: CCA
S. S. Rajamouli – RRR: CCA

So while it is likely that our five final Best Director nominees will come from above, below is a list of directors who made the Oscar lineup in their respective years without any of the above precursors:

Terrence Malick – The Tree Of Life (2011)
Ben Zeitlin – Beasts Of The Southern Wild (2012)
Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher (2014)
Lenny Abrahamson – Room (2015)
Paul Thomas Anderason – Phantom Thread (2017)

What do you think of the nominations? Please check out our predictions for Best Director here and let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below or on our Twitter account.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews