Friday, April 19, 2024

The 2022 European Film Award (EFA) Winners

The winners for the 35th European Film Awards (EFA) were announced today representing the best in European cinema for 2022. Here are this year’s winners…

European Film
Alcarràs (Spain/Italy)
Close (Belgium/France/Netherlands)
Corsage (Austria/Luxembourg/Germany/France)
Holy Spider (Denmark/Germany/Sweden/France)
Triangle Of Sadness (Sweden/Germany/France/United Kingdom)

European Director
Lukas Dhont – Close
Marie Kreutzer – Corsage
Jerzy Skolimowski – EO
Ali Abbasi – Holy Spider
Alice Diop – Saint Omer
Ruben Östlund – Triangle Of Sadness

European Actress
Vicky Krieps – Corsage
Zar Amir Ebrahimi – Holy Spider
Léa Seydoux – One Fine Morning
Penélope Cruz – Parallel Mothers
Meltem Kaptan – Rabiye Kurnaz Vs. George W. Bush

European Actor
Paul Mescal – Aftersun
Eden Dambrine – Close
Elliott Crosset Hove – Godland
Pierfrancesco Favino – Nostalgia
Zlatko Burić – Triangle Of Sadness

European Screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró – Alcarràs
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens – Close
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami – Holy Spider
Ruben Östlund – Triangle Of Sadness

European Comedy
Cop Secret (Iceland)
The Divide (France)
The Good Boss (Spain)

European Animated Feature Film
Little Nicholas – Happy As Can Be
My Love Affair With Marriage
My Neighbor’s Neighbors
No Dogs Or Italians Allowed

European Documentary
A House Made Of Splinters (Denmark/ Sweden/Finland/ Ukraine): Director – Simon Lereng Wilmont
Girl Gang (Switzerland): Director – Susanne Regina Meures
Mariupolis 2 (Lithuania/ France/ Germany): Director – Mantas Kvedaravičius
The Balcony Movie (Poland): Director – Paweł Łoziński
The March On Rome (Italy): Director – Mark Cousins

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci
107 Mothers (Slovakia/ Czech Republic/ Ukraine): Director – Peter Kerekes
Love According To Dalva (Belgium/ France): Director – Emmanuelle Nicot
Other People (Poland/ France): Director – Aleksandra Terpińska
Pamfir (Ukraine/ France/ Poland/ Germany/ Chile): Director – Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk
Small Body (Italy/ Slovenia/ France): Director – Laura Samani
Sonne (Austria): Director – Kurdwin Ayub

European Short Film
Granny’s Sexual Life
Ice Merchants
Love, Dad
Techno, Mama
Will My Parents Come To See Me

European Cinematography
The Quiet Girl

European Editing
Burning Days

European Production Design

European Costume Design

European Hair & Makeup
All Quiet On The Western Front

European Original Score

European Sound
The Hole

European Visual Effects
All Quiet On The Western Front

EFA Lifetime Achievement Award
Margarethe von Trotta

European Achievement in World Cinema
Elia Suleiman

European Innovative Storytelling
Marco Bellocchio for Exterior Night

Eurimages Co-Production Award
Ukrainian producers

European Sustainability Award – Prix Film4Climate
European Green Deal

Lux European Audience Film Award
Quo, Vadis Aida?
Great Freedom

EFA Young Audience Award (YAA)
Comedy Queen
Dreams Are Like Wild Tigers

European University Film Award (EUFA)
The Eclipse
Triangle Of Sadness

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews