Monday, May 27, 2024

The 2022 USC Scripter Award Nominations

The USC Scripter Nominations honoring the best in Adapted Screenplays and their source material for 2022 have been announced. The winners will be announced on March 4th. Here are this year’s nominees…

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (Netflix) — Guillermo del Toro, Patrick McHale, and Matthew Robbins (based on the fairy tale “The Adventures of Pinocchio” by Carlo Collodi)
Living” (Sony Pictures Classics) — Kazuo Ishiguro (based on the novella “The Death of Ivan Ilyich” by Leo Tolstoy)
She Said” (Universal Pictures) — Rebecca Lenkiewicz (based on the nonfiction book, “She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement” by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey)
Top Gun: Maverick” (Paramount Pictures) — Peter Craig, Ehren Kruger, Justin Marks, Christopher McQuarrie, and Eric Warren (based on characters from the 1983 “California” magazine article “Top Guns” by Ehud Yonay)
Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) — Sarah Polley, Miriam Toews (based on the novel “Women Talking” by Miriam Toews)

Peter Morgan, for the episode “Couple 31” from “The Crown” (Netflix) — based on his stage play “The Audience”
Taffy Brodesser-Akner for the episode “The Liver” from “Fleishman Is in Trouble” (FX) — based on her book of the same name
Will Smith for the episode “Failure’s Contagious” from “Slow Horses” (Apple TV+) — based on the novel by Mick Herron
J. T. Rogers for the episode “Yoshino” from “Tokyo Vice” (HBO Max) — based on the memoir “Tokyo Vice: An American Reporter on the Police Beat in Japan” by Jake Adelstein
Dustin Lance Black for the episode “When God Was Love” from “Under the Banner of Heaven” (FX) — based on the nonfiction work by Jon Krakauer

What do you think will be the final five nominees for Best Adapted Screenplay and which film do you think will win the USC Scripter Award? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews