Saturday, March 2, 2024

The 2018 San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFCC) have announced their nominations for the best in film for 2018. Their winners will be revealed Sunday December 9th.

Click below to see the nominees.

Best Picture
The Favourite
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, “Roma
Barry Jenkins, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Spike Lee, “BlacKkKlansman
Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Favourite
Paul Schrader, “First Reformed

Best Actor
Christian Bale, “Vice
Willem Dafoe, “At Eternity’s Gate
Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed
Rami Malek, “Bohemian Rhapsody
Viggo Mortensen, “Green Book

Best Actress
Yalitza Aparicio, “Roma
Toni Collette, “Hereditary
Olivia Colman, “The Favourite
Lady Gaga, “A Star is Born
Regina Hall, “Support the Girls
Melissa McCarthy, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali, “Green Book
Adam Driver, “BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Michael B. Jordan, “Black Panther
Russell Hornsby, “The Hate U Give

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, “Vice
Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie, “Leave No Trace
Emma Stone, “The Favourite
Rachel Weisz, “The Favourite

Best Screenplay, Original
Bo Burnham, “Eighth Grade”
Alfonso Cuarón, “Roma
Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara, “The Favourite
Adam McKay, “Vice
Paul Schrader, “First Reformed

Best Screenplay, Adapted
Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert Cole, “Black Panther
Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini, “Leave No Trace
Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Barry Jenkins, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, Spike Lee, “BlacKkKlansman

Best Cinematography
Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma
James Laxton, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Robbie Ryan, “The Favourite
Linus Sandgren, “First Man
Lukasz Zal, “Cold War

Best Original Score
Terence Blanchard, “BlacKkKlansman
Nicholas Britell, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Alexandre Desplat, “Isle of Dogs
Ludwig Göransson, “Black Panther
Justin Hurwitz, “First Man

Best Production Design
Hannah Beachler, “Black Panther
Eugenio Caballero, “Roma
Fiona Crombie, “The Favourite
Nathan Crowley, “First Man
Mark Friedberg, “If Beale Street Could Talk
Paul Harrod, Adam Stockhausen, “Isle of Dogs

Best Film Editing
Tom Cross, “First Man
Yorgos Mavropsaridis, “The Favourite
Eddie Hamilton, “Mission: Impossible – Fallout
Bob Murawski, Orson Welles, “The Other Side of the Wind
Alfonso Cuarón, Adam Gough, “Roma

Best Animated Feature
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs
Ralph Breaks the Internet
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Foreign Language Film
Cold War
“Let the Sunshine In”

Best Documentary
Free Solo
Minding the Gap
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Three finalists were also announced for the Special Citation Award for under appreciated independent films…

  • “Chained for Life,” Aaron Schimberg’s playfully penetrating satire about onscreen representations of disability
  • “The Endless,” a genre-bending story of emotionally estranged brothers starring and directed by Justin Benson and Aaron Moorhead
  • “Madeline’s Madeline,” Josephine Decker’s fluid collision of dream, reality and performance starring powerhouse newcomer Helena Howard

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews