Friday, April 12, 2024

Notable Films Excluded For The 2018 WGA Awards

By Matt Neglia 

Every year, the Writers Guild Of America finds a way to get certain high-profile Oscar contenders disqualified from their end of year awards due to their strict rules and guidelines (Quentin Tarantino has famously never been nominated by the WGA). This year is no exception as per Variety, a number of screenplays have been disqualified from this year’s WGA Awards.

Click below to see which films will not be competing this year.

Per Variety’s exclusive article, the following films will be ineligible this year…

“All Is True”
At Eternity’s Gate
Cold War
The Death of Stalin

The Favourite
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs
Leave No Trace
The Other Side of the Wind
The Rider

The Sisters Brothers
Sorry to Bother You
Stan & Ollie

So what does that leave left? Which films do you think will be nominated for the Writers Guild of America (WGA) Award? let us know in the comments section below. The nominations for the 71st annual Writers Guild Awards will be a announced on January 7th 2019 and the winners will be announced on February 17th.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews