Monday, February 26, 2024

The 2023 National Board Of Review (NBR) Winners

The National Board Of Review (NBR) have announced their winners representing the best in cinema for 2023. The New York based group is over 100 years old consisting of unknown voting members who are filmmakers, professionals and academics. The winners for their Best Picture prize from the last fourteen years (or since when the Academy expanded the Best Picture lineup) were “Up In The Air,” “The Social Network,” “Hugo,” “Zero Dark Thirty,” “Her,” “A Most Violent Year,” “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Manchester By The Sea,” “The Post,” “Green Book,” The Irishman,” “Da 5 Bloods,” “Licorice Pizza” & “Top Gun: Maverick” with only one of those going on to win Best Picture, the first time since 2008’s winner, “Slumdog Millionaire.” While this group doesn’t have the best track-record when it comes to predicting the Best Picture winner, they’re still a fun group to mull over and their top 10 list is used by many to compare with the AFI Top 10 list to figure out where the Best Picture consensus currently lies. With that said, here are this year’s winners:

Best Film:Killers of the Flower Moon” (Apple Original Films/Paramount Pictures)
Best Director: Martin Scorsese — “Killers of the Flower Moon” (Apple Original Films/Paramount Pictures)
Best Actor: Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers” (Focus Features)
Best Actress: Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon” (Apple Original Films/Paramount Pictures)
Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, “Poor Things” (Searchlight Pictures)
Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers” (Focus Features)
NBR Icon Award: Bradley Cooper
Best Original Screenplay:The Holdovers” (Focus Features) — David Hemingson
Best Adapted Screenplay:Poor Things” (Searchlight Pictures) — Tony McNamara
Breakthrough Performance: Teyana Taylor, “A Thousand and One” (Focus Features)
Best Directorial Debut: Celine Song, “Past Lives” (A24)
Best Animated Feature:Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse” (Sony Pictures)
Best International Film:Anatomy of a Fall” (Neon)
Best Documentary:Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple Original Films)
Best Ensemble:The Iron Claw” (A24)
Outstanding Achievement in Stunt Artistry: Director Chad Stahelski and Stunt Coordinators Stephen Dunlevy & Scott Rogers, “John Wick: Chapter 4” (Lionsgate)
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Rodrigo Prieto, “Barbie” (Warner Bros.) and “Killers of the Flower Moon” (Apple Original Films/Paramount Pictures)

NBR Freedom of Expression Awards:

Top Films (in alphabetical order):
The Boy and the Heron
The Holdovers
The Iron Claw
Past Lives
Poor Things

Top 5 International Films (in alphabetical order):
La Chimera (Neon)
Fallen Leaves (Mubi)
The Teachers’ Lounge (Sony Pictures Classics)
The Zone of Interest” (A24)

Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order):
20 Days in Mariupol
32 Sounds
The Eternal Memory
The Pigeon Tunnel
A Still Small Voice

Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order):
All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
All of Us Strangers
Earth Mama
Flora and Son
The Persian Version
Showing Up
Theater Camp
A Thousand and One

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews