Sunday, April 14, 2024

The 2023 Gotham Award (GOTHAM) Nominations

The 33rd annual Gotham Awards have announced their full list of nominations for the 2023 film year representing the best in film and television. This is the first year the budget cap was removed for nomination consideration. The event for the winners will take place on Monday, November, 27th, 2023. “Maestro” will receive the Cultural Icon & Creator Tribute award, “Rustin” will receive the Icon & Creator Tribute for Social Justice award and “Air” will receive the Visionary Icon & Creator Tribute award.

Best Feature
Passages – Ira Sachs, director; Saïd Ben Saïd & Michel Merkt, producers (MUBI)
Past Lives – Celine Song, director; David Hinojosa, Pamela Koffler & Christine Vachon, producers (A24)
Reality – Tina Satter, director; Brad Becker-Parton, Riva Marker, Greg Nobile & Noah Stahl, producers (HBO Films)
Showing Up – Kelly Reichardt, director; Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino & Anish Savjani, producers (A24)
A Thousand and One – A.V. Rockwell, director; Julia Lebedev, Rishi Rajani, Eddie Vaisman, Lena Waithe & Bred Weston, producers (Focus Features)

Best International Feature
All of Us Strangers – Andrew Haigh, director; Graham Broadbent, Peter Czemin & Sarah Harvey, producers (Searchlight Pictures)
Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet, director; Marie-Ange Luciani & David Thion, producers (NEON)
Poor Things – Yorgos Lanthimos, director; Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Andrew Lowe & Emma Stone, producers (Searchlight Pictures)
Tótem – Lila Avilés, director; Lila Avilés, Tatiana Graullera & Louise Riousse, producers (Sideshow/Janus Films)
The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer, director; Ewa Puszczynska & James Wilson, producers (A24)

Best Documentary Feature
20 Days in Mariupol – Mstyslav Chernov, director; Raney Aronson-Rath, Mstyslav Chernov, Derl McCrudden & Michelle Mizner, producers (PBS Distribution)
Against the Tide – Sarvnik Kaur, director; Koval Bhatia & Sarvnik Kaur, producers (Snooker Club Films, A Little Anarky Films)
Apolonia, Apolonia – Lea Glob, director; Sidsel Lønvig Siersted, producer (Danish Documentary Production)
Four Daughters – Kaouther Ben Hania, director; Nadim Cheikhrouha, producer (Kino Lorber)
Our Body – Claire Simon, director; Kristina Larsen, producer (Cinema Guild)

Breakthrough Director Award, Presented by Cadillac
Raven Jackson – All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (A24)
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean (Magnolia Pictures)
Michelle Garza Cervera – Huesera (XYZ Films)
Celine Song – Past Lives (A24)
A.V. Rockwell – A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Best Screenplay
All of Us Strangers – Andrew Haigh (Searchlight Pictures)
Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet & Arthur Harari (NEON)
May December – Samy Burch (Netflix)
R.M.N. – Cristian Mungiu (IFC Films)
The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer (A24)

Outstanding Lead Performance
Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor – Origin (NEON)
Lily Gladstone – The Unknown Country (Music Box Films)
Greta Lee – Past Lives (A24)
Franz Rogowski – Passages (MUBI)
Babetida Sadjo – Our Father, The Devil (Cineverse)
Andrew Scott – All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Pictures)
Cailee Spaeny – Priscilla (A24)
Teyana Taylor – A Thousand and One (Focus Features)
Michelle Williams – Showing Up (A24)
Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)

Outstanding Supporting Performance
Juliette Binoche – The Taste of Things (IFC Films)
Penélope Cruz – Ferrari (NEON)
Jamie Foxx – They Cloned Tyrone (Netflix)
Claire Foy – All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Films)
Ryan Gosling – Barbie (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Glenn Howerton – BlackBerry (IFC Films)
Sandra Hüller – The Zone of Interest (A24)
Rachel McAdams – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Charles Melton – May December (Netflix)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Breakthrough Series – Under 40 minutes
Beef – Lee Sung Jin, creator; Ravi Nandan, Alli Reich, Jake Schreier, Ali Wong & Steven Yeun, executive producers (Netflix)
High School – Clea DuVall, Sara Quin, Tegan Quin, creators; Clea Duvall, Dede Gardner, Laura Kittrell, Jeremy Kleiner, Sara Quin, Tegan Quin & Carina Sposato, executive producers (Amazon Freevee)
I’m A Virgo – Boots Riley, creator; Tze Chun, Michael Ellenberg, Marcus Gardley, Carver Karaszewski, Jharrel Jerome, Boots Riley, Rebecca Rivo & Lindsey Springer, executive producers (Prime Video)
Rain Dogs – Cash Carraway, creator; Cash Carraway, Sally Woodward Gentle & Lee Morris, executive producers (HBO | Max)
Swarm – Donald Glover, Janine Nabers, creators; Ibra Ake, Donald Glover, Stephen Glover, Janine Nabers Jamal Olor, Steven Prinz, Michael Schaefer & Fam Udeorji, executive producers (Amazon Studios)

Breakthrough Series – Over 40 minutes
Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire – Rolin Jones, creator; Mark Johnson, Rolin Jones, Anne Rice, Christopher Rice, Alan Taylor, executive producers (AMC)
Dead Ringers – Alice Birch, creator; Alice Birch, Anne Carey, Sean Durkin, Megan Ellison, Erica Kay, Ali Krug, Sue Naegle, Stacy O’Neil, David Robinson, James G. Robinson, Polly Stokes, Barbara Wall, Rachel Weisz, executive directors (Prime Video)
The English – Hugo Blick, creator; Hugo Blick, Emily Blunt, Greg Brenman, executive producers (Prime Video)
The Last of Us – Craig Mazin, Neil Druckmann, creators; Neil Druckmann, Craig Mazin, Rose Lam, Asad Qizilbash, Carolyn Strauss, Carter Swan, Evan Wells, executive producers; (HBO | Max)
A Small Light – Tony Phelan, Joan Rater, creator; Susanna Fogel, William Harper, Avi Nir, Tony Phelan, Joan Rater, Lisa Roos, Alon Shtruzman, Peter Traugott, executive producers (National Geographic)
Telemarketers – Adam Bhala Lough, Sam Lipman-Stern, directors; Nancy Abraham, Dani Bernfeld, David Gordon Green, Lisa Heller, Jody Hill, Brandon James, Sam Lipman-Stern, Adam Bhala Lough, Danny McBride, Tina Nguyen, Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, Greg Stewart, executive producers (HBO | Max)

Outstanding Performance in a New Series
Jacob Anderson – Anne Rice’s Interview with The Vampire (AMC)
Dominique Fishback – Swarm (Amazon Studios)
Jharrel Jerome – I’m A Virgo (Prime Video)
Natasha Lyonne – Poker Face (Peacock)
Bel Powley – A Small Light (National Geographic)
Bella Ramsey – The Last of Us (HBO | Max)
Chaske Spencer – The English (Prime Video)
Rachel Weisz – Dead Ringers ((Prime Video)
Ali Wong – Beef (Netflix)
Steven Yeun – Beef (Netflix)

To learn more about the IFP Gotham Awards click here. So what do you all think? Were your favorite films nominated? Was there anything excluded that puzzles you? Please let us know your thoughts in the comments below or on our Twitter account.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews