Thursday, December 7, 2023

The 2019 Online Association Of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

​The Online Association of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) announced their nominees representing the best in film for 2019. The winners will be revealed on December 23rd 2019.

Click below to see the nominees.

Best Film
Jojo Rabbit
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
The Farewell

Best Director
Alma Har’el – Honey Boy
Bong Joon-Ho – Parasite
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Lulu Wang – The Farewell

Best Male Lead
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Taron Egerton – Rocketman
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

Best Female Lead
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Renée Zellweger – Judy

Best Supporting Male
Sterling K. Brown – Waves
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
Shia LaBeouf – Honey Boy
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Best Supporting Female
Ana De Armas – Knives Out
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Margot Robbie – Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

Best Acting Ensemble
Knives Out
Little Women
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
The Irishman

Best Original Screenplay
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Rian Johnson – Knives Out
Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won – Parasite
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Lulu Wang – The Farewell

Best Adapted Screenplay
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Anthony McCarten – The Two Popes
Lorene Scafaria – Hustlers
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Steven Zaillian – The Irishman

Best Documentary
American Factory
Apollo 11
Hail Satan
One Child Nation

Best Animated Feature
Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke  – The Lighthouse
Roger Deakins – 1917
Claire Mathon – Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Robert Richardson – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Hoyte Van Hoytema – Ad Astra

Breakthrough Filmmaker
Alma Har’el – Honey Boy
Melina Matsoukas – Queen & Slim
Joe Talbot – The Last Black Man in San Francisco
Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart

Breakthrough Performance
Roman Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit
Zack Gottsagen – The Peanut Butter Falcon
Kelvin Harrison Jr. – Waves
Noah Jupe – Honey Boy
Florence Pugh – Midsommar

The RosieThis OAFFC-specific award “celebrates the film that best promotes women, their voices, and the female experience through cinema.”
Little Women
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
The Nightingale

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews