Monday, July 15, 2024

The 2019 San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

The San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) (formerly known as the San Francisco Film Critics Circle) have announced their nominations for the best in film for 2019. The winners will be revealed December 16th 2019.

Click below to see the nominees.

​Best Picture
The Irishman
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Director
Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho, “Parasite
Sam Mendes,“1917
Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman
Joe Talbot, “The Last Black Man in San Francisco
Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Original Screenplay
The Farewell,” Lulu Wang
Knives Out,” Rian Johnson
Marriage Story,” Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” Quentin Tarantino
Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho

Best Adapted Screenplay
A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood,”  Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue
Hustlers,” Lorene Scafaria
The Irishman,” Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit,”  Taika Waititi
Little Women,” Greta Gerwig

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Adam Driver, “Marriage Story
Leonardo DiCaprio, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker
Adam Sandler, “Uncut Gems

Best Actress
Awkwafina, “The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson, “Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o, “Us
Charlize Theron, “Bombshell
Alfre Woodard, “Clemency

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe, “The Lighthouse
Song Kang-Ho, “Parasite
Al Pacino, “The Irishman
Joe Pesci, “The Irishman
Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern, “Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson, “Jojo Rabbit
Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers
Margot Robbie, “Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen, “The Farewell

Best Animated Feature
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Foreign Language Film
Les Misérables
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Documentary
American Factory
Apollo 11
“For Sama”
One Child Nation

Best Cinematography
1917,”  Roger Deakins
A Hidden Life,” Joerg Widmer
The Last Black Man in San Francisco,” Adam Newport-Berra
The Lighthouse,” Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” Robert Richardson

Best Production Design
1917,” Dennis Gassner
The Irishman,” Bob Shaw and Regina Graves 
Midsommar,” Henrik Svenson
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” Barbara Ling
Parasite,” Lee Ha-Jun

Best Film Editing
1917,”  Lee Smith
The Irishman,” Thelma Schoonmaker
Ford v Ferrari,” Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,”  Fred Raskin
Parasite,” Jinmo Yang

Best Original Score
1917,” Thomas Newman
Joker,” Hildur Guonadottir
The Last Black Man in San Francisco,” Emile Nommensen
Little Women,” Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story,” Randy Newman

Special Citation for Independent Cinema
“The Cat and the Moon,” Director Alex Wolff
“Fiddler: A Miracle of Miracles,” Director Max Lewkowicz
“One Cut of the Dead,” Director Shin’ichiro Ueda
“Socrates,” Director Alexandre Moratto

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews