Thursday, June 13, 2024

The 72nd Primetime Emmy Award Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The winners for the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards have been announced. “Schitt’s Creek” won 7 awards, “Succession” won 4 and “Watchmen” walked away with 4 as well.

Click below to see the winners.

Outstanding Drama Series
Better Call Saul
The Crown
The Handmaid’s Tale
Killing Eve
The Mandalorian
Stranger Things

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Helena Bonham Carter – The Crown
Laura Dern – Big Little Lies
Julia Garner – Ozark
​Thandie Newton – Westworld
Fiona Shaw – Killing Eve
Sarah Snook – Succession
Meryl Streep – Big Little Lies
Samira Wiley – The Handmaid’s Tale

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Nicholas Braun – Succession
Billy Crudup – The Morning Show
Kieran Culkin – Succession
Mark Duplass – The Morning Show
Giancarlo Esposito – Better Call Saul
Matthew Mcfayden – Succession
Bradley Whitford – The Handmaid’s Tale
Jeffrey Wright – Westworld

Outstanding Directing in a Drama Series
The Crown – Aberfan
The Crown – Cri de Coeur
Homeland – Prisoners of War
The Morning Show – The Interview
Ozark – Fire Pink
Ozark – Su Casa Es Mi Casa
Succession – Hunting
Succession – This Is Not for Tears

Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series
Better Call Saul – Bad Choice Road
Better Call Saul – Bagman
The Crown – Aberfan
Ozark – All In
Ozark – Boss Fight
Ozark – Fire Pink
Succession – This Is Not for Tears

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Jennifer Aniston – The Morning Show
Olivia Colman – The Crown
Jodie Comer – Killing Eve
Laura Linney – Ozark
Sandra Oh – Killing Eve
Zendaya – Euphoria

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Jason Bateman – Ozark
Steve Carell – The Morning Show
Brian Cox – Succession
Billy Porter – Pose
Jeremy Strong – Succession
Sterling K. Brown – This Is Us

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program
The Masked Singer
Nailed It
RuPaul’s Drag Race
Top Chef
The Voice

Outstanding Limited Series
Little Fires Everywhere
Mrs. America

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series/Movie
Uzo Aduba – Mrs. America
Toni Collette – Unbelievable
Margo Martindale – Mrs. America
Jean Smart – Watchmen
Tracey Ullman – Mrs. America

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series/Movie
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II – Watchmen
Jovan Adepo – Watchmen
Dylan McDermott – Hollywood
Jim Parsons – Hollywood
Louis Gossett Jr. – Watchmen

Outstanding Directing in a Limited Series/Movie
Little Fires Everywhere – Find a Way
Normal People – Episode 5
Unorthodox – Unorthodox
Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice
Watchmen – Little Fear of Lightning
Watchmen – This Extraordinary Being

Outstanding Writing in a Limited Series/Movie
Mrs. America – Shirley
Normal People – Episode 3
Unbelievable – Episode 1
Unorthodox – Part 1
Watchmen – This Extraordinary Being

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series/Movie
Jeremy Irons – Watchmen
Hugh Jackman – Bad Education
Paul Mescal – Normal People
Jeremy Pope – Hollywood
Mark Ruffalo – I Know This Much Is True

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series/Movie
Cate Blanchett – Mrs. America
Regina King – Watchmen
Shira Haas – Unorthodox
Octavia Spencer – Self Made
Kerry Washington – Little Fires Everywhere

Outstanding Variety Talk Series
The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee
Jimmy Kimmel Live
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Outstanding Comedy Series
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Dead to Me
The Good Place
The Kominsky Method
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Schitt’s Creek
What We Do In The Shadows

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Alex Borstein – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
D’Arcy Carden – The Good Place
Betty Gilpin – GLOW
Marin Hinkle – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Kate McKinnon – Saturday Night Live
Annie Murphy – Schitt’s Creek
Yvonne Orji – Molly
Cecily Strong – Saturday Night Live

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Mahershala Ali – Ramy
Alan Arkin – The Kominsky Method
Andre Braugher – Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Sterling K. Brown – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
William Jackson Harper – The Good Place
Daniel Levy – Schitt’s Creek
Tony Shalhoub – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Kenan Thompson – Saturday Night Live

Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series
The Great – The Great
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – It’s Comedy or Cabbage
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Marvelous Radio
Modern Family – Finale, Part 2
Ramy –
Schitt’s Creek – Happy Ending
Will & Grace – We Love Lucy

Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series
The Good Place – Whenever You’re Ready
The Great – The Great
Schitt’s Creek – Happy Ending
Schitt’s Creek – The Presidential Suite
What We Do in the Shadows – Collaboration
What We Do in the Shadows – Ghosts
What We Do in the Shadows – On the Run

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Anderson – Black-ish
Don Cheadle – Black Monday
Ted Danson – The Good Place
Michael Douglas – The Kominsky Method
Eugene Levy – Schitt’s Creek
Ramy Youssef – Ramy

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Christina Applegate – Dead to Me
Rachel Brosnahan – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Linda Cardellini – Dead to Me
Tracee Ellis Ross – Black-ish
Catherine O’Hara – Schitt’s Creek
Issa Rae – Insecure

What do you think of the winners? Let us know in the comments section below or on our Twitter account.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Emmys and TV on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews