Thursday, February 29, 2024

The 2023 Satellite Award (IPA) Nominations

The nominations for the 28th annual Satellite Awards have been announced by the International Press Academy (IPA). The winners will be announced on February 18th, 2024.

Motion Picture, Drama
Killers of the Flower Moon (Paramount Pictures)
Maestro (Netflix)
May December (Netflix)
Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Past Lives (A24)
Ferrari (Neon)

Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Scrapper (Kino Lorber)
Barbie (Warner Bros)
The Holdovers (Focus Features)
American Fiction (MGM)
Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)
Dream Scenario (A24)

Motion Picture, International
United Kingdom – The Zone of Interest
Finland – Fallen Leaves
Germany – The Teacher’s Lounge
Spain – Society of the Snow
Bulgaria – Blaga’s Lessons
Italy – Io Capitano
France – Anatomy of a Fall

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
Suzume (Crunchyroll)
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS)
Elemental (Pixar)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Columbia Pictures)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount Pictures)
Robot Dreams (Neon)

Motion Picture, Documentary
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia Pictures)
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS)
Close to Vermeer (Kino Lorber)
Stamped from the Beginning (Netflix)
American Symphony (Netflix)
Bad Press (Context Move)
Love to Love You, Donna Summer (HBO Max)
Lakota Nation vs. United States (IFC Films

Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer
Yorgos Lanthimos – Poor Things
Jonathan Glazer – The Zone of Interest
Alexander Payne – The Holdovers
Greta Gerwig – Barbie

Actress in a Motion Picture Drama
Natalie Portman – May December
Carey Mulligan – Maestro
Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon
Greta Lee – Past Lives
Penélope Cruz – Ferrari
Sandra Hüller – Anatomy of a Fall

Actor in a Motion Picture Drama
Andrew Scott – All of Us Strangers
Bradley Cooper – Maestro
Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer
Leonardo DiCaprio – Killers of the Flower Moon
Colman Domingo – Rustin
Franz Rogowski – Passages

Actress in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Margot Robbie – Barbie
Fantasia Barrino – The Color Purple
Emma Stone – Poor Things
Alma Pöysti – Fallen Leaves
Cailee Spaeny – Priscilla

Actor in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers
Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction
Barry Keoghan – Saltburn
Nicolas Cage – Dream Scenario
Joaquin Phoenix – Beau Is Afraid

Actress in a Supporting Role
Rosamund Pike – Saltburn
Emily Blunt – Oppenheimer
Julianne Moore – May December
Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers
Juliette Binoche – The Taste of Things
America Ferrera – Barbie

Actor in a Supporting Role
Ryan Gosling – Barbie
Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer
Robert DeNiro – Killers of the Flower Moon
Mark Ruffalo – Poor Things
Charles Melton – May December
Dominic Sessa – The Holdovers

Screenplay, Original
David Hemingson – The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach – Barbie (Warner Bros)
Samy Burch (story by Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik) – May December (Netflix)
Celine Song – Past Lives (A24)
Justine Triet & Arthur Harari – Anatomy of a Fall (Neon)
Bradley Cooper & Josh Singer – Maestro (Netflix)

Screenplay, Adapted
Cord Jefferson – American Fiction (MGM)
Eric Roth & Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon (Paramount Pictures)
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Tony McNamara – Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)
Jonathan Glazer – The Zone of Interest (A24)
Andrew Haigh – All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Pictures)

Original Score
Daniel Pemberton – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Columbia / Sony Pictures)
Ludwig Göransson – Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)
Robbie Robertson – Killers of the Flower Moon (Paramount Pictures)
Jerskin Fendrix – Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)
Michael Giacchino – Society of the Snow (Netflix)
Laura Karpman – American Fiction (MGM)

Original Song
“It Never Went Away” – Jon Batiste & Dan Wilson from American Symphony
“I’m Just Ken” – Mark Ronson & Andrew Wyatt from Barbie
“Road to Freedom” – Lenny Kravitz from Rustin
“The Fire Inside” – Diane Warren from Flamin’ Hot
“What Was I Made For?” – Billie Eilish & Finneas from Barbie
“Peaches” – Jack Black, Aaron Horvath, Michael Jelenic, Eric Osmond & John Spiker from The Super Mario Bros. Movie

Rodrigo Prieto – Killers of the Flower Moon
Linus Sandgren – Saltburn
Hoyte van Hoytema – Oppenheimer
Matthew Libatique – Maestro
Erik Messerschmidt – Ferrari
Dariusz Wolski – Napoleon
Fraser Taggart – Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One

Film Editing
Thelma Schoonmaker – Killers of the Flower Moon
Nick Houy – Barbie
Kevin Tent – The Holdovers
Jennifer Lame – Oppenheimer
Michelle Tesoro – Maestro
Yorgos Mavropsaridis – Poor Things

Sound (Editing and Mixing)
Killers of the Flower Moon
American Symphony

Visual Effects
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse – Michael Lasker, Alan Hawkins, Bret St. Clair & Pav Grochola
Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One – Alex Wuttke, Jeff Sutherland, Simone Coco & Neil Corbould
The Creator
Transformers: Rise of the Beasts

Production Design
Maria Djurkovic & Sophie Phillips – Ferrari
Jack Fisk & Adam Willis – Killers of the Flower Moon
Kevin Thompson & Rena DeAngelo – Maestro
Ruth De Jong & Claire Kaufman – Oppenheimer
Sarah Greenwood & Katie Spencer – Barbie
Arthur Max – Napoleon

Costume Design
David Crossman, Janty Yates – Napoleon
Jacqueline West – Killers of the Flower Moon
Jacqueline Durran – Barbie
Holly Waddington – Poor Things
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck – The Color Purple
Ellen Mirojnick – Oppenheimer

Ensemble Motion Picture
Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)

What do you think of the nominations? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews