Thursday, February 29, 2024

The 2023 Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) Winners

The Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2023. Here are this year’s winners…

Best Film
American Fiction
Godzilla Minus One
The Holdovers
The Iron Claw
Killers of the Flower Moon
May December
Past Lives
Poor Things
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
The Zone of Interest

Best Director
Greta Gerwig – Barbie
Yorgos Lanthimos – Poor Things
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer
Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon
Celine Song – Past Lives

Best Lead Performance
Bradley Cooper – Maestro
Leonardo DiCaprio – Killers of the Flower Moon
Colman Domingo – Rustin
Zac Efron – The Iron Claw
Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers
Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon
Greta Lee – Past Lives
Carey Mulligan – Maestro
Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer
Margot Robbie – Barbie
Andrew Scott – All Of Us Strangers
Emma Stone – Poor Things
Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction

Best Supporting Performance
Penélope Cruz – Ferrari
Robert De Niro – Killers of the Flower Moon
Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer
Jodie Foster – Nyad
Ryan Gosling – Barbie
Glenn Howerton – BlackBerry
Charles Melton – May December
Julianne Moore – May December
Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers
Mark Ruffalo – Poor Things
Dominic Sessa – The Holdovers

Best Ensemble
Asteroid City
The Color Purple
Killers of the Flower Moon
Poor Things

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
Willem Dafoe – Asteroid City, The Boy & The Heron, Inside, and Poor Things
Matt Damon – Air and Oppenheimer
Colman Domingo – The Color Purple, Ruby Gillman: Teenage Kraken, Rustin, and Transformers: Rise of the Beasts
Sandra Hüller – Anatomy Of A Fall and The Zone of Interest
Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction, Asteroid City, and Rustin

Breakthrough Film Artist
Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon – (for acting)
Cord Jefferson, American Fiction – (for directing and screenwriting)
Charles Melton, May December – (for acting)
Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers – (for acting)
Celine Song, Past Lives – (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography
Matthew Libatique – Maestro
Rodrigo Prieto – Barbie
Rodrigo Prieto – Killers of the Flower Moon
Robbie Ryan – Poor Things
Hoyte Van Hoytema – Oppenheimer

Best Film Editing
Michael Andrews – Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Kirk Baxter – The Killer
Nick Houy – Barbie
Jennifer Lame – Oppenheimer
Yorgos Mavropsaridis – Poor Things
Thelma Schoonmaker – Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Adapted Screenplay
Kelly Fremon Craig – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.
Cord Jefferson – American Fiction
Tony McNamara – Poor Things
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer
Eric Roth and Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola – Asteroid City
Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik – May December
Sean Durkin – The Iron Claw
Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach – Barbie
David Hemingson – The Holdovers
Celine Song – Past Lives
Justine Triet and Arthur Harari – Anatomy Of A Fall

Best Score
Jerskin Fendrix – Poor Things
Ludwig Göransson – Oppenheimer
Laura Karpman – American Fiction
Robbie Robertson – Killers of the Flower Moon
Naoki Satô – Godzilla Minus One

Best Documentary
20 Days in Mariupol
32 Sounds
American Symphony
Anselm (TIE)
Kokomo City (TIE)
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie

Best Foreign Language Film
Anatomy Of A Fall
The Boy & The Heron
Godzilla Minus One
Perfect Days
The Zone of Interest

Best Animated Film
The Boy & The Heron
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem

Frank Gabrenya Award for Best Comedy
American Fiction
Asteroid City
The Holdovers
No Hard Feelings
You Hurt My Feelings

Best Overlooked Film
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.
Rye Lane
Showing Up
Theater Camp
You Hurt My Feelings

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews