Sunday, October 2, 2022

The 2021 Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2021.

Click below to see the winners.

Best Film
1. The Power of the Dog
2. Licorice Pizza
West Side Story
Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
C’mon C’mon
The Tragedy of Macbeth
tick, tick…BOOM!
Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog (WINNER)
Steven Spielberg – West Side Story (RUNNER UP)

Denis Villeneuve – Dune
Best Actor
Nicolas Cage – Pig (RUNNER UP)
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog (WINNER)

Andrew Garfield – tick, tick…BOOM!
Will Smith – King Richard
Denzel Washington – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter (RUNNER UP)
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza (WINNER)
Taylour Paige – Zola
Tessa Thompson – Passing
Best Supporting Actor
Colman Domingo – Zola
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Troy Kotsur – CODA (RUNNER UP)
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog (WINNER)
Best Supporting Actress
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast
Jodie Comer – The Last Duel
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog (RUNNER UP)
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Marlee Matlin – CODA
Ruth Negga – Passing (WINNER)
Best Ensemble
The French Dispatch
The Harder They Fall (RUNNER UP)
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog (WINNER)
West Side Story
Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
Timothée Chalamet (Don’t Look UpDune, and The French Dispatch)
Bradley Cooper (Licorice Pizza and Nightmare Alley)
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Electrical Life of Louis WainThe MauritanianThe Power of the Dog, and Spider-Man: No Way Home) (WINNER)
Adam Driver (AnnetteHouse of Gucci, and The Last Duel)
Andrew Garfield (The Eyes of Tammy FayeSpider-Man: No Way Home, and tick, tick…BOOM!(RUNNER UP)
Breakthrough Film Artist
Janicza Bravo – Zola (for directing and screenwriting)
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter (for producing, directing, and screenwriting)
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza (for acting) (WINNER)
Rebecca Hall – Passing (for producing, directing, and screenwriting)
Jude Hill – Belfast (for acting) (RUNNER UP)
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon (for acting)
Best Cinematography
Bruno Delbonnel – The Tragedy of Macbeth (WINNER)
Andrew Droz Palermo – The Green Knight
Greig Fraser – Dune
Dan Lautsen – Nightmare Alley
Ari Wegner – The Power of the Dog (RUNNER UP)
Haris Zambarloukos – Belfast

Best Film Editing
Sarah Broshar and Michael Kahn – West Side Story (WINNER)
Andy Jurgensen – Licorice Pizza
Peter Sciberras – The Power of the Dog (RUNNER UP)
Joe Walker – Dune
Andrew Weisblum – The French Dispatch
Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog (WINNER)
Joel Coen – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Siân Heder – CODA
Tony Kushner – West Side Story (RUNNER UP)
Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, and Eric Roth – Dune
Best Original Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza (WINNER)
Zach Baylin – King Richard
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast (RUNNER UP)
Julia Ducournau – Titane
Mike Mills – C’mon C’mon
Michael Sarnoski – Pig
Best Score
Alexandre Desplat – The French Dispatch
Jonny Greenwood – The Power of the Dog (WINNER)
Jonny Greenwood – Spencer 
Nathan Johnson – Nightmare Alley
Hans Zimmer – Dune
Best Documentary
The Rescue
The Sparks Brothers
Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) (WINNER)
The Velvet Underground
Best Foreign Language Film
Drive My Car (WINNER)
A Hero
The Worst Person in the World
Best Animated Film
The Mitchells vs. the Machines (WINNER)
Raya and the Last Dragon
Best Overlooked Film
Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar
Nine Days (RUNNER UP)
Riders of Justice (WINNER)
Together Together

​​​You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Reviews