Tuesday, June 18, 2024

The 2019 Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) EDA Awards Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2019.

Click below to see the winners in their competitive, gender specific and special awards categories.

Best Film
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood
Marriage Story

Best Director 
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho – Parasite
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood
Celine Sciamma – Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Screenplay, Original 
The Farewell – Lulu Wang
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach
Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
Parasite – Bong Joon-ho

Best Screenplay, Adapted 
A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood – Micah Fitzerman-Blue & Noah Harpster
Hustlers – Lorene Scafaria
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
Little Women – Greta Gerwig

Best Documentary
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

Best Animated Film
Frozen 2
I Lost My Body
Toy Story 4

Best Actress 
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Renee Zellweger – Judy

Best Actress in a Supporting Role 
Annette Bening – The Report
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

Best Actor 
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Eddie Murphy – Dolemite is My Name
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director
The Irishman – Ellen Lewis
Little Women – Kathy Driscoll and Francine Maisler
Marriage Story – Douglas Maisel and Francine Maisler
Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood – Victoria Thomas
Parasite (casting director not listed in credits)

Best Cinematography 
1917 – Roger Deakins
A Hidden Life – Jorg Widmer
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood – Robert Richardson
Portrait of a Lady on Fire – Claire Mathon

Best Editing
1917 – Lee Smith
Ford v Ferrari – Andrew Buckland
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Once Upon A Time…in Hollywood – Fred Raskin
Parasite – Jimmo Yang

Best Non-English-Language Film 
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

These awards honor WOMEN only

Best Woman Director 
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Marielle Heller – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Celine Sciamma – Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart

Best Woman Screenwriter 
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Lorene Scafaria – Hustlers
Celine Sciamma – Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel & Katie Silberman – Booksmart

Best Animated Female 
Anna – Kristen Bell in Frozen 2
Bo Peep – Annie Potts in Toy Story 4
Elsa – Idina Menzel in Frozen 2
Yi – Chloe Bennet in Abominable

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance 
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Florence Pugh – MidsommarLittle Women & Fighting With the Family
Jodie Turner-Smith – Queen & Slim

Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry 
Ava DuVernay for creating ARRAY and championing women in film.
Claire Mathon for Cinematography on Portrait of a Lady on Fire & Atlantics
Anna Serner (Swedish Film Inst) for tireless work on 50/50 by 2020 initiative.


Grand Dame Award for defying agism.
Helen Mirren – The Good Liar
Maggie Smith – Downton Abbey
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award 
Dolemite is My Name: Eddie Murphy (58) & Da’Vine Joy Randolph (33)  25
Lucy In The Sky: Jon Hamm (48) & Zazie Beetz (28) 20
The Public: Emilio Estevez (57) & Taylor Schilling (35) 22

She Deserves A New Agent Award
Anne Hathaway – The Hustler & Serenity
Diane Keaton & ensemble – Poms
Kristen Stewart – Charlie’s Angels & Seberg

Most Daring Performance Award
Aisling Franciosi – The Nightingale
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Florence Pugh – Midsommar
Renee Zellweger – Judy

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award 
Charlie’s Angels
The Lion King
Men In Black: International
Dark Phoenix

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award
HFPA for excluding women nominees in major Golden Globe categories.
Louis CK come back tour
Beach Bums, the movie
Harvey Weinstein, more of the same

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Negliahttps://nextbestpicture.com/
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews