Monday, July 15, 2024

The 2017 London Film Critics Circle (LFCC) Winners

By Matt Neglia

The London Film Critics Circle (LFCC) have announced their winners for the best in film for 2017. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri ​leads with 3 wins including Film Of The Year.

Click below to see the winners.

Film Of The Year
The Florida Project
Get Out
God’s Own Country
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 

Foreign-Language Film Of The Year
The Handmaiden

Documentary Of The Year
Human Flow
I Am Not Your Negro
The Work

British/Irish Film Of The Year
God’s Own Country
Lady Macbeth
Paddington 2
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 

Director Of The Year
Sean Baker – The Florida Project
Guillermo Del Toro – The Shape of Water
Luca Guadagnino – Call Me By Your Name
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk

Screenwriter Of The Year
Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread
Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
James Ivory – Call Me By Your Name
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Jordan Peele – Get Out

Actress Of The Year
Annette Bening – Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Florence Pugh – Lady Macbeth

Actor Of The Year
Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread
James Franco – The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Supporting Actress Of The Year
Lily Gladstone – Certain Women
Holly Hunter – The Big Sick
Allison Janney – I, Tonya
Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird

Supporting Actor Of The Year
Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project
Hugh Grant – Paddington 2
Woody Harrelson – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Michael Stuhlbarg – Call Me By Your Name

British/Irish Actress Of The Year
Emily Beecham – Daphne
Judi Dench – Victoria And Abdul/Murder on the Orient Express
Sally Hawkins – The Shape Of Water/Maudie/Paddington 2
Florence Pugh – Lady Macbeth
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird/Loving Vincent

British/Irish Actor Of The Year
Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread
Colin Farrell – The Killing Of A Sacred Deer/The Beguiled
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Josh O’Connor – God’s Own Country
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour/The Space Between Us

Young British/Irish Performer Of The Year
Harris Dickinson – Beach Rats
Tom Holland – The Lost City Of Z/Spider-Man: Homecoming
Noah Jupe – Suburbicon/Wonder/The Man With the Iron Heart
Dafne Keen – Logan
Fionn Whitehead – Dunkirk

Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker: The Philip French Award
Alice Birch – Lady Macbeth
Simon Farnaby – Paddington 2/Mindhorn
Francis Lee – God’s Own Country
Rungano Nyoni – I Am Not a Witch
William Oldroyd – Lady Macbeth

British/Irish Short Film Of The Year
The Cloud of Unknowing – Mike Hannon
The Dog and the Elephant – Mike Sharpe
Tuesday – Charlotte Wells
We Love Moses – Dionne Edwards
Your Mother and I – Anna Maguire

Technical Achievement Award
Baby Driver – Darrin Prescott, stunts
Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner, production design
Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer, music
God’s Own Country – Joshua James Richards, cinematography
Lady Macbeth – Holly Waddington, costumes
The Lost City Of Z – Darius Khondji, cinematography
The Love Witch – Emma Willis, hair & makeup
Paddington 2 – Pablo Grillo, visual effects
Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges, costumes
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Ben Morris, visual effects

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews