Thursday, February 29, 2024

The 2023 Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) Winners

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2023. Here are this year’s winners…

Best Picture
American Fiction
Godzilla Minus One
The Holdovers
Killers of the Flower Moon
May December
Oppenheimer” (WINNER)
Past Lives” (RUNNER-UP)
Poor Things
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best Director
American Fiction” – Cord Jefferson
Barbie” – Greta Gerwig (RUNNER-UP)
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Martin Scorsese (RUNNER-UP)
Oppenheimer” – Christopher Nolan (WINNER)
Past Lives” – Celine Song

Best Actor
Bradley Cooper (“Maestro”)
Colman Domingo (“Rustin”)
Paul Giamatti (“The Holdovers”)
Cillian Murphy (“Oppenheimer”) (WINNER)
Jeffrey Wright (“American Fiction”) (RUNNER-UP)

Best Actress
Lily Gladstone (“Killers of the Flower Moon”) (WINNER)
Sandra Hüller (“Anatomy of a Fall”)
Greta Lee (“Past Lives”)
Carey Mulligan (“Maestro”)
Emma Stone (“Poor Things”) (RUNNER-UP

Best Supporting Actor
Sterling K. Brown (“American Fiction”)
Robert Downey, Jr. (“Oppenheimer”) (WINNER)
Ryan Gosling (“Barbie”)
Glenn Howerton (“BlackBerry”)
Charles Melton (“May December”) (RUNNER-UP)

Best Supporting Actress
Emily Blunt (“Oppenheimer”) (RUNNER-UP)
Danielle Brooks (“The Color Purple”)
Penélope Cruz (“Ferrari”)
Rachel McAdams (“Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.”)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“The Holdovers”) (WINNER)

Best Original Screenplay
Barbie” – Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach
Dream Scenario” – Kristoffer Borgli
The Holdovers” – David Hemingson (WINNER)
May December” – Samy Burch
Past Lives” – Celine Song (RUNNER-UP)

Best Adapted Screenplay
American Fiction” – Cord Jefferson (RUNNER-UP)
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.” – Kelly Fremon Craig
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Eric Roth, Martin Scorsese
Oppenheimer” – Christopher Nolan (WINNER)
Poor Things” – Tony McNamara

Best Cinematography
All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt” – Jomo Fray
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Rodrigo Prieto (RUNNER-UP)
Maestro” – Matthew Libatique
Oppenheimer” – Hoyte Van Hoytema (WINNER)
Poor Things” – Robbie Ryan

Best Production Design
Asteroid City” – Adam Stockhausen, Kris Moran
Barbie” – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer (WINNER)
The Creator” – James Clyne, Chris DiPaola, Matt Sims, Lek Chaiyan Chunsuttiwat
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Jack Fisk, Adam Willis
Oppenheimer” – Ruth De Jong, Claire Kaufman
Poor Things” – James Price, Shona Heath, Szusza Mihalek (RUNNER-UP)

Best Original Score
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Robbie Robertson
Oppenheimer” – Ludwig Göransson (WINNER)
Poor Things” – Jerskin Fendrix
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse” – Daniel Pemberton (RUNNER-UP)
The Zone of Interest” – Mica Levi

Best Original Song
“Am I Dreaming” – Mike Dean, Peter Lee Johnson, Rakim Mayers, Roisee, Landon Wayne, Leland Wayne (“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”)
“I’m Just Ken” – Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt (“Barbie”) (RUNNER-UP)
“Peaches” – Jack Black, John Spiker, Eric Osmond, Michael Jelenic, Aaron Horvath (“The Super Mario Bros. Movie”)
“Quiet Eyes” – Sharon Van Etten, Zach Dawes (“Past Lives”)
“What Was I Made For?” – Billie Eillish, Finneas O’Connell (“Barbie”) (WINNER)

Best Ensemble
American Fiction
Asteroid City
The Color Purple
The Holdovers” (RUNNER-UP)
Killers of the Flower Moon
Oppenheimer” (WINNER)

Best International Film
Anatomy of a Fall” (RUNNER-UP)
The Boy and the Heron
Godzilla Minus One” (WINNER)
Perfect Days
The Taste of Things
The Zone of Interest

Best Animated Film
The Boy and the Heron” (RUNNER-UP)
Robot Dreams
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse” (WINNER)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem

Best Documentary Film
Beyond Utopia” (RUNNER-UP)
Four Daughters
The Mission
The Pigeon Tunnel
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (WINNER)

Breakthrough Award
Ayo Edebiri (RUNNER-UP)
Abby Ryder Fortson
Charlles Melton (RUNNER-UP)
Dominic Sessa (WINNER)
Celine Song

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
Blue Beetle” (Angel Manuel Soto, Gareth Dunnet-Alcocer)
“Chipper” (short; Shaun MacLean, Lane Skye, Ruckus Skye)
The Color Purple” (Blitz Bazawule, Marcus Gardley)
Creed III” (Michael B. Jordan, Keenan Coogler, Zach Baylin)
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3” (James Gunn)
May December” (Todd Haynes, Samy Burch) (WINNER)
Origin” (Ava DuVernay) (RUNNER-UP)
“She Watches Blindly” (Bryan Tan)
They Cloned Tyrone” (Juel Taylor, Tony Rettenmaier)
“This World is Not My Own” (Petter Ringbom, Marquise Stillwell, Ruchi Mital)

What do you think of the winners? Please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews