Wednesday, April 24, 2024

The 2022 Cannes Film Festival Award Winners

By Matt Neglia

This year’s Cannes Film Festival had a wide range of reactions to its lineup this year with no clear-cut runaway favorite that was the talk of the town on the level of a “Parasite” or “Titane.” With this much uncertainty, we expected surprises at at this year’s Cannes Film Festival awards but I don’t know how many people expected to see a certain studio pick up its third Palme d’Or in a row.

This year’s In Competition included, Armageddon Time,” “Boy From Heaven,” Broker,” “Brother and Sister,” “Close,” “Crimes of the Future,” Decision to Leave,” “The Eight Mountains,” “EO,” “Forever Young,” Holy Spider,” “Leila’s Brothers,” “Mother And Sun,” “Nostalgia,” “Pacifiction,” “R.M.N.,” Showing Up,” The Stars at Noon,” Tchaïkovski’s Wife,” “Tori and Lokita” & “Triangle of Sadness.”

The jury selecting the winners for this year’s In Competition awards included Asghar Farhadi (“A Hero“), Rebecca Hall (“Passing“), Ladj Ly (“Les Misérables“), Jeff Nichols (“Loving“), Deepika Padukone (“xXx: Return Of Xander Cage“), Noomi Rapace (“Lamb“), Joachim Trier (“The Worst Person In The World“), Jasmine Trinca (“The Best Of Youth”), and Jury President, Vincent Lindon (“Both Sides Of The Blade“).

Click below to see what won the awards at the 2022 Cannes Film Festival.

Official Competition Prizes
Palme d’Or: “Triangle of Sadness” by Ruben Östlund
Grand Prix: “Close” by Lukas Dhont & “Stars At Noon” by Claire Denis (TIE)
Jury Prize: “The Eight Mountains” by Charlotte Vandermeersch & Felix van Groeningen & “EO” by Jerzy Skolimowski (TIE)
Best Director: Park Chan-wook for “Decision to Leave
Best Actress: Zar Amir Ebrahimi for “Holy Spider
Best Actor: Song Kang-ho for “Broker
Best Screenplay: Tarik Saleh for “Boy From Heaven”
Camera d’Or: “War Pony” by Gina Gammell & Riley Keough (Special mention: “Palm 75” by Hayakawa Chie)
Short Film Palme d’Or: The Water Murmurs” by Jianying Chen (Special mention: “Lori” by Abinash Bikram Shahi)

Un Certain Regard Prizes
Prix Un Certain Regard: “The Worst Ones” by Lise Akoka & Romane Gueret
Jury Prize: “Joyland” by Saim Sadiq
Best Director: Alexandru Belc for “Metronom”
Best Performance: Vicky Krieps for “Corsage” & Adam Bessa for “Harka”
Best Screenplay: Maha Haj for “Mediterranean Fever”
Coup de Coeur Award: “Rodeo” by Lola Quivoron

COMPETITION – Leila’s Brothers” by Saeed Roustace (Iran)
UN CERTAIN REGARD – “The Blue Caftan” by Maryam Touzani (Morocco, France, Denmark & Belgium)
DIRECTORS’ FORTNIGHT/CRITICS’ WEEK – “Love According to Dalva” by Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium & France)

Ecumenical Prize
Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: “Broker” by Hirokazu Kore-eda

International Critics Week
Grand & SACD Prize: “La Jauria” by Andres Ramirez Pulido
French Touch Film: “Aftersun” by Charlotte Wells
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Zelda Samson for “Love According To Dalva”
Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “Ice Merchants” by João Gonzalez
Gan Foundation Award for Distribution: “The Woodcutter Story” by Mikko Myllylahti
Canal+ Award for Short Film: “On Xerxes’ Throne” by Evi Kalogiropoulou

Directors’ Fortnight
Europa Cinemas Label Award for Best European Film: “One Fine Morning” by Mia Hansen-Løve
SACD Award for Best French-language Film: “The Mountain” by Thomas Salvador
Carrosse d’Or: Kelly Reichardt
L’Œil d’or: “All That Breathes” by Shaunek Sen
Jury’s Special Award: “Mariupolis 2” by Mantas Kvedaravicius

Queer Palm
Queer Palm Award: “Joyland” by Saim Sadiq
Short Film Queer Palm: “Will You Look At Me” by Shuli Huang

Prix François Chalais
François Chalais Prize: “By From Heaven” by Tarik Selah

Prix de la Citoyenneté
Citizenship Prize: “Leila’s Brothers” by Saeed Roustaee

Cannes Soundtrack Award
Cannes Soundtrack Award: Paweł Mykietyn for “EO

Palm Dog
Palm Dog Award: Brit in “War Pony”

First Prize: “A Conspiracy Man” by Valerio Ferrara
Second Prize: “Somewhere” by Li Jiahe
Third Prize: “Glorious Revolution” by Masha Novikova & “Humans Are Dumber When Crammed up Togethe” by Laurène Fernandez (TIE)

Prix des Cinémas Art et Essai
AFCAE Art House Cinema Award:Triangle of Sadness
Special Mention:EO

Trophée Chopard
Chopard Trophy: Sheila Atim and Jack Lowden

​What do you think of the winners? Which of these films are you most looking forward to? Do you think any of these will be in contention for an Oscar nomination later this year? Please let us know your thoughts in the comments section below or on our Twitter account.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews