Friday, July 19, 2024

The 2021 Satellite Award (IPA) Winners

The winners for the 26th annual Satellite Awards were announced yesterday by the International Press Academy (IPA).

​Click below to see the full list of film winners.

Mary Pickford Award – Tom Skerritt                               
Tesla Award – Joan Collins
Auteur Award – Lin-Manuel Miranda
Best First Feature – Halle Berry – Bruised
Stunt Performance Award – The Suicide Squad
Humanitarian Award – Val Kilmer
Ensemble: Motion Picture – The Power of the Dog
Ensemble: Television – Succession

Actress in a Motion Picture Drama
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Kristen Stewart – Spencer
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Nicole Kidman – Being the Ricardos
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter
Penélope Cruz – Parallel Mothers

Actor in a Motion Picture Drama
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Clifton Collins Jr. – Jockey
Denzel Washington – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Joaquin Phoenix – C’mon C’mon
Tom Skerritt – East of Mountains
Will Smith – King Richard

Actress in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Jennifer Hudson – Respect
Melissa Barrera – In The Heights
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World

Actor in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Andrew Garfield – tick, tick… Boom!
Anthony Ramos – In The Heights
Peter Dinklage – Cyrano

Actress in a Supporting Role
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast
Judi Dench – Belfast
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog
Marlee Matlin – CODA
Ruth Negga – Passing

Actor in a Supporting Role
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
J.K. Simmons – Being the Ricardos
Jamie Dornan – Belfast
Jared Leto – House of Gucci
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog
Robin de Jesús – tick, tick… Boom!

Motion Picture, Drama
Belfast – Focus Features
CODA – Apple Original Films
Dune – Warner Bros.
East of Mountains – Quiver Distribution
King Richard – Warner Bros.
Spencer – Neon
The Lost Daughter – Netflix
The Power of the Dog – Netflix

Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Cyrano – United Artists Releasing
In The Heights – Warner Bros.
Licorice Pizza – MGM
Respect – MGM/UA
The French Dispatch – Searchlight Pictures
tick, tick… Boom! – Netflix

Motion Picture, International
Iran – A Hero
Finland – Compartment No. 6
Japan – Drive My Car
Denmark – Flee
Mexico – Prayers for the Stolen
Spain – The Good Boss
Italy – The Hand of God 
Norway – The Worst Person in the World
France – Titane

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
Encanto – Walt Disney
Flee – Neon
Luca – Pixar
The Mitchells vs the Machines – Netflix
Vivo – Netflix

Motion Picture, Documentary
Ascension – MTV Documentary Films
Brian Willson: Long Promised Road – Screen Media Films
Flee – Neon
Introducing Selma Blair – Strand Releasing
Julia – Sony Pictures Classics
Procession – Netflix
Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Searchlight Pictures
The Rescue – National Geographic
The Velvet Underground – Apple Original Films
Val – Amazon Studios

Denis Villeneuve – Dune
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Lin-Manuel Miranda – tick, tick… Boom!
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Reinaldo Marcus Green – King Richard

Screenplay, Original
Asghar Farhadi – A Hero
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Mike Mills – C’mon C’mon
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Pedro Almodóvar – Parallel Mothers
Zach Baylin – King Richard

Screenplay, Adapted
Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth & Jon Spaihts – Dune
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Joel Coen – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall & Nella Larsen – Passing
Sian Heder – CODA

Original Score
Alberto Iglesias – Parallel Mothers
Alexandre Desplat – The French Dispatch
Hans Zimmer – Dune
Harry Gregson-Williams – The Last Duel
Jeymes Samuel – The Harder They Fall
Jonny Greenwood – Spencer
Jonny Greenwood – The Power of the Dog

Original Song
Be Alive by Beyoncé Knowles-Carter & Dixson – King Richard
“Beyond the Shore”by Nicholai Baxter, Matt Dahan, Siân Heder & Marius de Vries – CODA
“Colombia, Mi Encanto”by Lin-Manuel Miranda – Encanto
“Down to Joy” by Van Morrison – Belfast
“Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” by Jamie Alexander Hartman, Jennifer Hudson & Carole King – Respect
“No Time to Die” by Billie Eilish & Finneas O’Connell – No Time to Die

Alice Brookstick – tick, tick… Boom!
Ari Wegner – The Power of the Dog
Bruno Delbonnel – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Greig Fraser – Dune
Haris Zambarloukos – Belfast
Robbie Ryan – C’mon C’mon

Film Editing
Andy Jurgensen – Licorice Pizza
Joe Walker – Dune
Myron Kerstein & Andrew Weisblum – tick, tick… Boom!
Pamela Martin – King Richard
Peter Sciberras – The Power of the Dog
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast

Sound (Editing and Mixing)
Simon Chase, James Mather, Denise Yarde & Niv Adiri – Belfast
Mac Ruth, Mark A. Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill & Ron Bartlett – Dune
Doug Hemphill, Ron Bartlett, Clint Bennett, Anthony Ortiz & Richard King – The Harder They Fall
Oliver Tarney, Paul Massey, David Giammarco, William Miller, Daniel Birch & Stéphane Bucher – The Last Duel
Robert Mackenzie, Richard Flynn, Leah Katz, Tara Webb & Dave Whitehead – The Power of the Dog
Paul Hsu & Todd A. Maitland – tick, tick… Boom!

Visual Effects
Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor & Gerd Nefzer – Dune
Adam Wingard, Kevin Smith, Dave Clayton & Kevin Sherwood – Godzilla vs. Kong
Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Walker & Dan Oliver – Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Kelvin McIlwain, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner & Dan Sudick – The Suicide Squad
James E. Price – The Tomorrow War

Art Direction and Production Design
Jim Clay & Claire Nia Richards – Belfast
Patrice Vermette, Richard Roberts & Zsuzsanna Sipos – Dune
Guy Hendrix Dyas & Yesim Zolan – Spencer
Adam Stockhausen & Rena DeAngelo – The French Dispatch
Grant Major & Amber Richards – The Power of the Dog
Stefan Dechant – The Tragedy of Macbeth

Costume Design
Charlotte Walter – Belfast
Jacqueline Durran – Spencer
Jacqueline West – Dune
Kirsty Cameron – The Power of the Dog
Massimo Cantini Parrini – Cyrano
Ruth E. Carter – Coming 2 America

​To see the full list of winners including television click here.

​You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews