Thursday, June 20, 2024

The 2021 Gotham Independent Film Award (GOTHAM) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The 31st annual Gotham Independent Film Awards (GOTHAM) have announced their winners representing the best in independent film and television for 2021. Tributes were given to performers Kristen Stewart (“Spencer“), Peter Dinklage (“Cyrano“), director Jane Campion (“The Power Of The Dog“) and the ensemble cast of “The Harder They Fall.”

​Click below to see the full list of winners.

Best Feature
The Green Knight
The Lost Daughter
Test Pattern

Best Documentary Feature
Faya Dayi
Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best International Feature
Drive My Car
The Souvenir Part II
What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?
The Worst Person In The World

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Edson Oda – Nine Days
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Emma Seligman Shiva Baby
Shatara Michelle Ford – Test Pattern

Best Screenplay
The Card Counter Paul Schrader
El Planeta – Amalia Ulman
The Green Knight – David Lowery
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
Passing – Rebecca Hall
Red Rocket – Sean Baker & Chris Bergoch

Outstanding Lead Performance
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter (TIE)
Frankie Faison – The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain (TIE)

Michael Greyeyes – Wild Indian
Brittany S. Hall – Test Pattern
Oscar Isaac – The Card Counter
Taylour Paige – Zola
Joaquin Phoenix – C’mon C’mon
Simon Rex – Red Rocket
Lili Taylor – Paper Spiders
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Outstanding Supporting Performance
Reed Birney – Mass
Jessie Buckley The Lost Daughter
Colman Domingo – Zola
Gaby Hoffmann – C’mon C’mon
Troy Kotsur – CODA
Marlee Matlin – CODA
Ruth Negga – Passing

Breakthrough Performer
Emilia Jones – CODA
Natalie Morales – Language Lessons
Rachel Sennott – Shiva Baby
Suzanna Son – Red Rocket
Amalia Ulman – El Planeta

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)
The Good Lord Bird
It’s A Sin
Small Axe
Squid Game
The Underground Railroad
The White Lotus

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)
Reservation Dogs
Run the World
We Are Lady Parts

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series
City So Real
Exterminate All the Brutes
How To With John Wilson
Philly D.A.

Outstanding Performance in a New Series
Jennifer Coolidge – The White Lotus
Michael Greyeyes – Rutherford Falls
Ethan Hawke – The Good Lord Bird (TIE)
Devery Jacobs – Reservation Dogs
Lee Jung-jae – Squid Game
Thuso Mbedu – The Underground Railroad (TIE)
Jean Smart – Hacks
Omar Sy – Lupin
Anya Taylor-Joy – The Queen’s Gambit
Anjana Vasan – We Are Lady Parts

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews