Wednesday, April 24, 2024

The 2021 Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) EDA Award Winners

By Matt Neglia 

In an exclusive with Variety, the Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2021.

Click below to see the winners in their competitive, gender specific and special awards categories.

Best Film
Licorice Pizza
The Lost Daughter
The Power Of The Dog

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson – “Licorice Pizza
Kenneth Branagh – “Belfast
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal- “The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall – “Passing

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – “The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter
Lady Gaga – “House Of Gucci
Kristen Stewart – “Spencer
Tessa Thompson – “Passing

Best Actress In A Supporting Role
Jessie Buckley  – “The Lost Daughter
Ann Dowd – “Mass
Kirsten Dunst – “The Power Of The Dog
Aunjanue Ellis – “King Richard
Ruth Negga – “Passing

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Power Of The Dog
Peter Dinklage – “Cyrano
Andrew Garfield – “Tick, Tick…boom!
Will Smith – “King Richard
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy Of Macbeth

Best Actor In A Supporting Role
Jamie Dornan – “Belfast
Troy Kostur – “CODA
Ciaran Hinds – “Belfast
Jesse Plemons – “The Power Of The Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – “The Power Of The Dog

Best Screenplay, Original
Being The Ricardos” – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up” – Adam Mckay
Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
Mass” – Fran Kranz

Best Screenplay, Adapted
CODA” – Sian Heder
Dune” – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth
The Lost Daughter” – Maggie Gyllenhaal
Passing” – Rebecca Hall
The Power Of The Dog” – Jane Campion

Best Documentary
Flee” (TIE)
Summer Of Soul” (TIE)

Best Animated Film
Encanto” (TIE)
The Mitchells Vs The Machines” (TIE)
Raya And The Last Dragon

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director
Belfast” – Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann
The French Dispatch” – Douglas Aibel, Antoinette Boulat
The Harder They Fall” – Victoria Thomas
King Richard” – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
The Power Of The Dog” – Nikki Barrett, Tina Cleary, Carmen Cuba, Nina Gold

Best Cinematography
Belfast” – Haris Zambarloukos
Dune” – Greig Fraser
Passing” – Eduard Grau
The Power Of The Dog” – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy Of Macbeth” – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing
Belfast” – Una Ni Dhonghalle
Don’t Look Up” – Hank Corwin
Dune” – Joe Walker
The Power Of The Dog” – Peter Sciberras
West Side Story” – Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn

Best Non-English-language Film
Drive My Car
A Hero
I’m Your Man

EDA Female Focus Awards

Best Woman Director
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog
Julia Ducournau – “Titane
Maggie Gyllenhall – “The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall – “Passing
Sian Heder – “CODA

Best Woman Screenwriter
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal – “The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall – “Passing
Sian Heder – “CODA
Maria Schrader – “I’m Your Man

Best Animated Female
Mirabel, Stephanie Beatriz – “Encanto
Katie, Abbi Jacobsen – “The Mitchells Vs The Machines
Raya, Kelly Marie Tran – “Raya And The Last Dragon
Giulia, Emma Berman – “Luca
Sisu, Awkwafina – “Raya And The Last Dragon

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance
Ariana Debose -“West Side Story
Alana Haim – “Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones –  “CODA
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World
Rachel Zegler – West Side Story

Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry
Victoria Alonzo For Her Achievements At Marvel Studios
Maya Cade For Establishing The Black Film Archive
Anna Serner For 20 Years Of Female-forward Work At The Swedish Film Institute


Grand Dame Award For Defying Ageism
Dame Judi Dench
Ms. Rita Moreno

Dame Diana Rigg

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award
The Many Saints Of Newark” –  Ray Liotta and Michela Derossi (38 Years)
Red Rocket” – Simon Rex and Suzanna Son (21 Years)
The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard” – Salma Hayek and Samuel L. Jackson (21 Years)
Nightmare Alley” – David Strathairn and Toni Collette (22 Years)
No Time to Die” – Daniel Craig and Lea Seydoux (17 years)
Licorice Pizza” Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman (10 Years)

She Deserves A New Agent Award
Amy Adams – “The Woman In The Window” and “Dear Evan Hansen
Melissa Mccarthy – “The Starling
Chloe Grace Moretz – “Tom And Jerry

Most Daring Performance Award
Sandra Bullock – “The Unforgivable
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter
Ruth Negga – “Passing
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World
Agatha Rouselle –  “Titane

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award
The Boss Baby: The Family Business
Ghostbusters: Afterlife
Space Jam: A New Legacy
Tom And Jerry

AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award

  • Gina Carano, Nicki Minaj and Letitia Wright for using celeb status for anti-vax propaganda
  • Producers, crew and cast of “Rust” for not following proper safety protocol and causing the tragic death of cinematographer Halyna Hutchins
  • Warner Bros for contributing to Mel Gibson’s resurgence by hiring him to direct “Lethal Weapon 5”

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Previous article
Next article
Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews