Friday, May 24, 2024

The 2020 Writers Guild Of America (WGA) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

​The Writers Guild Of America (WGA) have announced their 2020 winners representing the best in screenwriting for the 2019 film year.

Click below to see the winners.

1917 – Written by Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns; Universal Pictures
Booksmart – Written by Emily Halpern & Sarah Haskins and Susanna Fogel and Katie Silberman; United Artists Releasing
Knives Out – Written by Rian Johnson; Lionsgate
Marriage Story – Written by Noah Baumbach; Netflix
Parasite – Screenplay by Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won, Story by Bong Joon Ho; Neon

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood – Written by Micah Fitzerman-Blue & Noah Harpster, Inspired by the Article “Can You Say…Hero?” by Tom Junod; TriStar Pictures
The Irishman – Screenplay by Steven Zaillian, Based upon the Book I Heard You Paint Houses by Charles Brandt; Netflix
Jojo Rabbit – Screenplay by Taika Waititi, Based on the book Caging Skies by Christine Leunens; Fox Searchlight
Joker – Written by Todd Phillips & Scott Silver, Based on Characters from DC Comics; Warner Bros. Pictures
Little Women – Screenplay by Greta Gerwig, Based on the Novel by Louisa May Alcott; Sony Pictures

For the full list of winners including television click here. What do you think of the winners? What are your predictions for Best Original and Adapted Screenplay? You can see our updated Oscar predictions here. Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below or on our Twitter account.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews