Sunday, July 14, 2024

The 2020 San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) (formerly known as the San Francisco Film Critics Circle) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2020.

Click below to see the winners.

​Best Picture
First Cow
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Promising Young Woman

Best Director
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
Eliza Hittman – “Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Kelly Reichardt – First Cow
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari

Best Original Screenplay
Aaron Sorkin – “The Trial of the Chicago 7
Eliza Hittman – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Jack Fincher – Mank
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari

Best Adapted Screenplay
Charlie Kaufman  “I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
Kelly Reichardt & Jon Raymond – First Cow
Kemp Powers – One Night in Miami
Ruben Santiago-Hudson – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Actor
Anthony Hopkins -“The Father
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods
Riz Ahmed – “Sound of Metal
Steven Yeun -“Minari

Best Actress
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman
Elisabeth Moss – “The Invisible Man
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Supporting Actor
Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods
David Strathairn – Nomadland
Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami
Paul Raci – “Sound of Metal
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Supporting Actress
Amanda Seyfried – Mank
Maria Bakalova – “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Olivia Colman – “The Father
Toni Collette – I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Youn Yuh-jung – “Minari

Best Animated Feature
“Marona’s Fantastic Tale”
Over the Moon

Best Foreign Language Film
Another Round
“La Llorona”
“Two of Us”

Best Documentary
Crip Camp
Boys State
“The Truffle Hunters”

Best Cinematography
Christopher Blauvelt – First Cow
Erik Messerschmidt  Mank
Hoyte Van Hoytema  Tenet
Joshua James Richards  Nomadland
Newton Thomas Sigel  Da 5 Bloods

Best Production Design
First Cow
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
One Night in Miami

Best Film Editing
Alan Baumgarten – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Chloé Zhao – “Nomadland
Jennifer Lame – “Tenet
Kirk Baxter – Mank
Yorgos Lamprinos – “The Father

Best Original Score
Emile Mosseri – Minari
Terence Blanchard – “Da 5 Bloods
Terence Blanchard – “One Night in Miami
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “Mank
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “Soul

Special Citation for Independent Cinema
“La Llorona” (TIE)
“The Last Tree”
Sh*thouse” (TIE)

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews