Tuesday, November 28, 2023

The 2020 Kansas City Film Critics Circle (KCFCC) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The Kansas City Film Critics Circle (KCFCC) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2020.

​Click below to see the winners.

​Best Picture

Winners: Nomadland & Promising Young Woman (TIE)

Best Director
Winner: Chloe Zhao – Nomadland
Runner-Up: Aaron Sorkin – The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best Actor
Winner: Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
Runner-Up: Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Actress
Winner: Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman
Runner-Up: Frances McDormand – Nomadland

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Leslie Odom, Jr. – One Night in Miami
Runner-Up: Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Youn Yuh-Jung – Minari
Runner-Up: Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Promising Young Woman
Runner-Up: The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Nomadland
Runner-Up: I’m Thinking Of Ending Things

Best Cinematography
Winner: The Vast Of Night
Runner-Up: Mank

Best Animated Film
Winner: Wolfwalkers
Runner-Up: Soul

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: Another Round
Runners-Up: 76, Bacurau & The Life Ahead

Best Documentary
Winner: The Dissident
Runner-Up: Crip Camp

Vince Koehler Award For Best SciFi/Horror/Fantasy
Winner: The Invisible Man
Runner-Up: The Vast Of Night

Tom Poe Award For Best LBGTQ Film
Winner: Kajillionaire
Runner-Up: The Prom

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Negliahttps://nextbestpicture.com/
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews