Sunday, June 16, 2024

The 2019 Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) Nominations

By Matt Neglia

The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) have announced their full list of nominees representing the best in film for 2019. The winners will be announced on December 8th at 8pm EST.

​Click below to see the list of nominees.

Best Film
The Irishman
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Director
Greta Gerwig (Little Women)
Bong Joon-ho (Parasite)
Sam Mendes (1917)
Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)
Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)

Best Actor
Robert De Niro (The Irishman)
Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Adam Driver (Marriage Story)
Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)
Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Actress
Awkwafina (The Farewell)
Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)
Lupita Nyong’o (Us)
Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)
Renée Zellweger (Judy)

Best Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood)
Jonathan Majors (The Last Black Man in San Francisco)
Al Pacino (The Irishman)
Joe Pesci (The Irishman)
Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern (Marriage Story)
Scarlett Johansson (Jojo Rabbit)
Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)
Florence Pugh (Little Women)
Zhao Shuzhen (The Farewell)

Best Acting Ensemble
The Irishman
Knives Out
Little Women
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Youth Performance
Julia Butters (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Roman Griffin Davis (Jojo Rabbit)
Shahadi Wright Joseph (Us)
Noah Jupe (Honey Boy)
Thomasin McKenzie (Jojo Rabbit)

Best Voice Performance
Kristen Bell (Frozen II)
Billy Eichner (The Lion King)
Tony Hale (Toy Story 4)
Tom Hanks (Toy Story 4)
Annie Potts (Toy Story 4)

Best Motion Capture Performance
Josh Brolin (Avengers: Endgame)
Rosa Salazar (Alita: Battle Angel)

Best Original Screenplay
Rian Johnson (Knives Out)
Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)
Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won (Parasite)
Jordan Peele (Us)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Micah Fitzerman-Blue & Noah Harpster; Inspired by the Article “Can You Say … Hero?” by Tom Junod (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood)
Taika Waititi; Based on the Book “Caging Skies” by Christine Leunens (Jojo Rabbit)
Todd Phillips & Scott Silver (Joker)
Greta Gerwig; Based on the Novel by Louisa May Alcott (Little Women)
Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Animated Feature
Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Documentary
American Factory
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

Best Foreign Language Film
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Production Design
Production Designer: Dennis Gassner; Set Decorator: Lee Sandales (1917)
Production Designer: Ra Vincent; Set Decorator: Nora Sopková (Jojo Rabbit)
Production Designer: Jess Gonchor; Set Decorator: Claire Kaufman (Little Women)
Production Designer: Barbara Ling; Set Decorator: Nancy Haigh (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Production Designer: Lee Ha-jun (Parasite)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC (1917)
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC (The Irishman)
Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)
Robert Richardson, ASC (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Drew Daniels (Waves)

Best Editing
Lee Smith, ACE (1917)
Michael McCusker, ACE and Andrew Buckland (Ford v Ferrari)
Thelma Schoonmaker, ACE (The Irishman)
Fred Raskin, ACE (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Yang Jin-mo (Parasite)

Best Original Score
Thomas Newman (1917)
Hildur Guðnadóttir (Joker)
Alexandre Desplat (Little Women)
Randy Newman (Marriage Story)
Michael Abels (Us)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC
Long Shot
The Report

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews