Monday, May 20, 2024

The 2019 USC Scripter Award Nominees

By Matt Neglia 

The 2019 USC Scripter Nominations honoring the best in Adapted Screenplays and their source material for 2018 have been announced. The winners will be announced on February 9th.

Click below to see the nominations.

  • Screenwriters Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole for “Black Panther,” based on the character created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby
  • Screenwriters Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty and author Lee Israel for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
  • Screenwriters Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, and David Schneider for “The Death of Stalin,” based on the graphic novel by Fabien Nury and Thierry Robin
  • Screenwriter Barry Jenkins and author James Baldwin for “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Screenwriters Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini for “Leave No Trace” based on the novel “My Abandonment” by Peter Rock.

For the full list including television click here.

No “BlacKkKlansman.” After failing to win the Critics Choice Award and now missing here, an award every Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar winner has won since 2010, it does not bode well for Spike Lee’s film. Also no “A Star Is Born,” “First Man” or “The Hate U Give.”

What do you think will be the final five nominees for Best Adapted Screenplay and which film do you think will win the USC Scripter Award? Let us know in the comments below or on our Twitter account. You can also see our current predictions for Best Adapted Screenplay here.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews