Thursday, July 18, 2024

The 2019 Satellite Award Nominations

By Matt Neglia

The nominations for the 24th annual Satellite Awards have been announced by the International Press Academy (IPA).

​Click below to see the full list of film nominations.


Auteur Award: Edward Norton – Motherless Brooklyn
Best First Feature: Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre – The Mustang
Ensemble: Motion Picture – Knives Out
Ensemble: Television – Succession


Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama
Alfre Woodard – Clemency
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet
Helen Mirren – The Good Liar
Renee Zellweger – Judy
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story

Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama 
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Christian Bale – Ford v Ferrari
George MacKay – 1917
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Mark Ruffalo – Dark Waters

Actress in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical 
Awkwafina – The Farewell 
Ana De Armas – Knives Out
Constance Wu – Hustlers
Julianne Moore – Gloria Bell

Actor in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems
Daniel Craig – Knives Out
Eddie Murphy – Dolemite Is My Name
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Taron Egerton – Rocketman
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit

Actress in a Supporting Role
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Margot Robbie – Bombshell
Penelope Cruz – Pain and Glory
Nicole Kidman – Bombshell
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell 

Actor in a Supporting Role
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in The Neighborhood
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
Wendell Pierce – Burning Cane

Motion Picture, Drama
Burning Cane
Ford v Ferrari
The Lighthouse
Marriage Story
The Two Popes

Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Knives Out
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
The Farewell
Uncut Gems

Motion Picture, International
Senegal – Atlantics
Russia – Beanpole 
France – Les Miserables
Spain – Pain and Glory
Korea – Parasite
Estonia – Truth and Justice
France – Portrait of a Lady on Fire 
Czech Republic – The Painted Bird 

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Alita: Battle Angel
Buñuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles
How to Train Your Dragon 2: The Hidden World
The Lion King
Toy Story 4
Weathering With You

Motion Picture, Documentary
63 Up
Apollo 11
Citizen K
One Child Nation
The Apollo
The Cave

Bong Joon Ho – Parasite
James Mangold – Ford v Ferrari
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Pedro Almodóvar – Pain and Glory
Sam Mendes – 1917
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Screenplay, Original
Bong Joon Ho – Parasite
Jez Butterworth, John-Henry Butterworth & Jason Keller – Ford v Ferrari
Lulu Wang – The Farewell 
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Pedro Almodóvar – Pain and Glory
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Screenplay, Adapted
Anthony McCarten – The Two Popes
Edward Norton – Motherless Brooklyn
Matthew Michael Carnahan, Mario Correa & Nathaniel Rich – Dark Waters
Steven Zaillian – The Irishman
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Todd Phillips & Scott Silver – Joker

Original Score
Thomas Newman – 1917
Marco Beltrami & Buck Sanders – Ford v Ferrari
Randy Newman – Marriage Story
Robbie Robertson – The Irishman
Terence Blanchard – Harriet
Hildur Guonadottir – Joker

Original Song
“Don’t Call Me (Angel)” – Charlie’s Angels
“Into the Unknown” – Frozen II
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” – Rocketman
“Spirit” – The Lion King
“The Ballade of the Lonesome Cowboy” – Toy Story 4
“Swan Song” – Alita: Battle Angel

Dick Pope – Motherless Brooklyn
George Richmond – Rocketman
Lawrence Sher – Joker
Phedon Papamichael – Ford v Ferrari
Rodrigo Prieto – The Irishman
Roger Deakins – 1917

Visual Effects
Alita: Battle Angel – Joe Letteri & Eric Saindon
Avengers: Endgame – Dan DeLeeuw, Matt Aitken Russell Earl & Dan Sudick
The Lion King – Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez & Elliot Newman
Ford v Ferrari – Olivier Dumont, Mark Byers & Kathy Segal
Joker – Edwin Rivera, Mathew Giampa & Bryan Godwin
The Irishman – Pablo Helman

Film Editing
Lee Smith – 1917
Michael McCusker & Andrew Buckland – Ford v Ferrari
Jeff Groth – Joker
Jennifer Lame – Marriage Story
Chris Dickens – Rocketman
Thelma Schoonmaker – The Irishman

Sound (Editing and Mixing)
1917 – Oliver Tarney, Stuart Wilson, Scott Millan & Mark Taylor
Avengers: Endgame – Shannon Mills, Daniel Laurie, Tom Johnson, Juan Peralta & John Pritchett
Ford v Ferrari – Donald Sylvester, Paul Massey, David Giammarco & Steven A. Morrow
Joker – Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich & Dean Zupancic
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Wylie Stateman, Mark Ulano, Michael Minkler & Christian P. Minkler
Rocketman – Matthew Collinge & John Hayes

Art Direction and Production Design
1917 – Dennis Gassner & Lee Sandales
Ford v Ferrari – François Audouy & Peter Lando
Joker – Mark Friedberg & Laura Ballinger
Motherless Brooklyn – Beth Mickle & Michael Ahern
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Barbara Ling & Nancy Haigh
The Two Popes – Mark Tildesley & Saverio Sammali

Costume Design
Dolemite Is My Name – Ruth E. Carter
Joker – Mark Bridges
Judy – Jeny Temime
Rocketman – Julian Day
The Two Popes – Luka Canfora
Downton Abbey – Caroline McCall, Anna Robbins, Susannah Buxton & Rosalind Ebbutt

To see the full list of nominees including television click here.

IPA is a global media association of domestic and foreign entertainment journalists in print, TV, radio, broadcast, and online outlets; including critics, interviewers, reviewers, bloggers, and photographers. The IPA awards will be handed out February 7th 2020. Any nominations particularly jump out at you? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below or on our Twitter account.

​You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews