Sunday, June 23, 2024

The 2019 Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The Hollywood Critics Association (HCAhave announced their winners representing the best in film for 2019.

Click below to see the winners.

Best Picture
The Farewell
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

Best Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio –
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Taron Egerton – Rocketman
Eddie Murphy – Dolemite is My Name
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker

Best Actress
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Renée Zellweger – Judy

Best Supporting Actor
Sterling K. Brown –
Shia LaBeouf – Honey Boy
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern –
Marriage Story
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Margot Robbie – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Taylor Russell – Waves
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

Best Adapted Screenplay
Lorene Scafaria –
Steven Zaillian – The Irishman
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Scott Silver and Todd Phillips – Joker
Anthony McCarten – The Two Popes

Best Original Screenplay
​Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman –
​Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Rian Johnson – Knives Out
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Boon Joon-ho & Han Jin-won – Parasite

Best Male Director
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Boon Joon Ho –
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit

Best Female Director
Greta Gerwig –
Little Women
Alma Har’el – Honey Boy
Lorene Scafaria – Hustlers
Lulu Wang –
The Farewell
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart

Best Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 and Under
Kaitlyn Dever –
Julia Butters – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Noah Jupe – Honey Boy
Roman Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit
Thomasin McKenzie – Jojo Rabbit

Best Breakthrough Performance
Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Zack Gottsagen –
The Peanut Butter Falcon
Kelvin Harrison Jr – Waves
Paul Walter Hauser – Richard Jewell
Taylor Russell –

Best Cast
Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman
Knives Out
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

Best First Feature
Brittany Runs A Marathon

Honey Boy
The Peanut Butter Falcon
Queen & Slim

Best Independent Film
The Farewell (TIE)
Honey Boy

Waves (TIE)

Best Action/War Film
Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw
John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum

Best Animated Film
Frozen 2
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Blockbuster
Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Spider-Man: Far From Home

Best Comedy/Musical
Booksmart (TIE)
Blinded by The Light

Dolemite is My Name
Long Shot
Rocketman (TIE)

Best Documentary
American Factory
Apollo 11
Hail Satan?
The Kingmaker
Love, Antosha

Best Foreign Language Film
The Farewell
Pain & Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Horror Film
Doctor Sleep
Ready or Not


Best Animated or VFX Performance
Josh Brolin –
Avengers: Endgame
Robert De Niro – The Irishman
Tom Hanks – Toy Story 4
Ryan Reynolds – Pokemon Detective Pikachu
Rosa Salazar –
Alita: Battle Angel

Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse
Drew Daniel –
Roger Deakins – 1917
Robert Richardson – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Lawrence Sher – Joker

Best Costume Design
Mark Bridges – Joker
Ruth E Carter – Dolemite is My Name
Julian Day – Rocketman
Jacqueline Durran – Little Women
Arianne Phillips – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

Best Editing
Yang Jin-mo – Parasite

Michael McCusker – Ford v Ferrari
Fred Raskin – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Thelma Schoonmaker –
The Irishman
Lee Smith – 1917

Best Hair and Makeup

The Irishman

Best Original Song
Catchy Song – The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part
Glasgow – Wild Rose
(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again – Rocketman
Into The Unknown – Frozen 2
Speechless – Aladdin

Best Score
Michael Abels – Us
Alexandre Desplat – Little Women
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Joker
Thomas Newman –
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Waves

Best Stunt Work
Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw
John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum

Best Visual Effects
Ad Astra
Alita: Battle Angel

Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman

Actor Achievement Award – Anton Yelchin
Filmmaker Achievement Award – Bong-Joon Ho 
Artisans Achievement Award – Ruth E. Carter
Game Changer Award – Paul Walter Hauser 
Star on the Rise – Taylor Russell 
Newcomer – Zack Gottesagen
Trailblazer – Olivia Wilde

End of a Decade Awards Recipients 
Actor of the Decade – Adam Driver
Actress of the Decade – Kristen Stewart
Director of the Decade – Denis Villeneuve 
Producer of the Decade – Daniela Taplin Lundberg

Next Generation of Hollywood – Kelvin Harrison Jr., Geraldine Viswanathan, Brooklynn Prince, Millicent Simmonds, Mckenna Grace, Jack Dylan Grazer, Thomasin McKenzie, Zoey Deutch, Noah Jupe, Kaitlyn Dever, Lana Condor, and Shahadi Wright Joseph

About HCA: Formerly known as the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society (LAOFCS), the goal of the Hollywood Critics Association is to create a diverse community of passionate and professional critics with a passion for entertainment, including film and television. You can find more here.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews