Sunday, April 21, 2024

The 2019 Greater Western New York Film Critics Association (GWNYFCA) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

The Greater Western New York Film Critics Association (GWNYFCA) have announced their nominations for the best in film for 2019. The winners will be announced December 30th 2019.

Click below to see the nominees.

Best Picture
Ad Astra
The Farewell
The Irishman
The Lighthouse
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Portrait Of A Lady On Fire

Best Film in a Foreign Language
The Farewell (United States)
Pain and Glory (Spain)
Parasite (South Korea)
Portrait Of A Lady On Fire (France)
Transit (Germany)

Best Animated Film
How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Documentary
American Factory
Apollo 11
Love, Antosha
One Child Nation

Best Director
Noah Baumbach –
Marriage Story
James Gray – Ad Astra
Bong Joon-ho – Parasite
Céline Sciamma – Portrait Of A Lady On Fire
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman

Best Lead Actress
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Adéle Haenel – Portrait Of A Lady On Fire
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Noémie Merlant – Portrait Of A Lady On Fire
Sienna Miller – American Woman
Lupita Nyong’o – Us

Best Lead Actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Brad Pitt – Ad Astra
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

​Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe –
The Lighthouse
Song Kang-ho – Parasite
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

Best Adapted Screenplay
Micah Fitzerman-Blue & Noah Harpster – A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood
Steven Zaillian – The Irishman
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
J.C. Lee & Julius Onah – Luce

Best Original Screenplay
Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Bong Joon-ho & Han Jin-won – Parasite
Céline Sciamma – Portrait Of A Lady On Fire

Best Cinematography
Hoyte Van Hoytema – Ad Astra
Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse
Robert Richardson – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Hong Kyung-pyo – Parasite
Claire Mathon – Portrait Of A Lady On Fire

Best Editing
Todd Douglas Miller – Apollo 11
Andrew Buckland & Michael McCusker – Ford v Ferrari
Thelma Schoonmaker – The Irishman
Fred Raskin – Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
Yang Jin-mo – Parasite
Ronald Bronstein & Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems

Best Score
Max Richter – Ad Astra
Robbie Robertson – The Irishman
Alexandre Desplat – Little Women
Randy Newman – Marriage Story
Michael Abels – Us

Breakthrough Director
Mati Diop – Atlantics
Melina Matsoukas – Queen & Slim
Tyler Nilson & Michael Schwartz – The Peanut Butter Falcon
Joe Talbot – The Last Black Man In San Francisco
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart

Breakthrough Performance
Jimmie Fails – The Last Black Man In San Francisco

Julia Fox – Uncut Gems
Zach Gottsagen – The Peanut Butter Falcon
Roman Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews