Monday, July 22, 2024

More Titles Added To The 2022 Cannes Film Festival

As promised, the 2022 Cannes Film Festival has added new titles to its lineup in both competition and out of competition. Three big titles have been announced for the In Competition section of the festival, including Albert Serra’s “Tourment sur les iles,” Léonor Serraille’s “Un Petit Frere,” and “Le Otto Montagne” from filmmakers Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix Van Groeninge (“Beautiful Boy“). But that’s not all, though; Serge Bozon’s much anticipated “Don Juan” and Emmanuel Mouret’s “Chronique d’une liaison passagère,” have been added to the Cannes Premiere section. Louis Garrel’s “L’innocent,” starring the writer-director himself, Anouk Grinberg and Noémie Merlant, will play out of competition. “Don Juan” is a title that a lot of people have had their eyes on in particular, due to the presence of Tahar Rahim (“The Mauritanian“) and Virginie Efira (“Benedetta“) in what is said to be a romantic musical comedy.

The Official Selection for the festival’s competition section now has five films directed by women, which is a record for the festival after last year’s festival only had four (out of twenty-one) titles from female filmmakers. There is still a long way for the festival to go in regards to satisfying their harshest critics with this area but it’s still a step in the right direction. As of right now, no Jury members have been announced for the competition titles for this year’s festival but we should be hearing about that in the next few days. The 2022 Cannes Film Festival will run from May 17th until May 28th, 2022.

Click below to see the full lineup now with these additions including Critics’ Week.

“The Almond Tree” – Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (France)
“Armageddon Time” – James Gray (U.S.)
“Boy From Heaven” – Tarik Saleh (Sweden)
“Broker” – Kore-eda Hirokazu (South Korea)
“Brother and Sister” OR “Frère et Sœur” – Arnaud Desplechin (France)
“Close” – Lucas Dhont (Belgium)
“Crimes of the Future” – David Cronenberg (Canada)
“Decision to Leave” – Park Chan-Wook (South Korea)
“Eo” OR “Hi-Han” – Jerzy Skolimowski (Poland)
“Holy Spider” – Ali Abbasi (Iran)
“Leila’s Brothers” – Saeed Roustaee (Iran)
​”Le Otto Montagne” – Charlotte Vandermeersch & Felix Van Groeninge (Italy)
“Nostalgia” – Mario Martone (Italy)
“RMN” – Cristian Mungiu (Romania)
“Showing Up” – Kelly Reichardt (U.S.)
“Stars at Noon” – Claire Denis (France)
“Tchaïkovski’s Wife” – Kirill Serebrennikov (Russia)
“Tori and Lokita” – Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne (Belgium)
“Tourment sur les iles” – Albert Serra (France)
“Triangle of Sadness” – Ruben Östlund (Sweden)
“Un Petit Frere” – Léonor Serraille (France)

“All the People I’ll Never Be” OR “Retour à Séoul” – Davy Chou (Cambodia)
“Beast” – Riley Keough and Gina Gammell (U.S.)
“Burning Days” – Emin Alper (Turkey)
“Butterfly Vision” – Maksim Nakonechnyi (Ukraine)
“Corsage” – Marie Kruetzer (Austria)
“Domingo and the Mist” – Ariel Escalante Meza (Costa Rica)
“Joyland” – Saim Sadiq (Pakistan)
“Metronom” – Alexandru Belc (Romania)
“Plan 75” – Hayakawa Chie (Japan)
“Rodeo” – Lola Quivoron (France)
“Sick of Myself” – Kristoffer Borgli
“The Silent Twins” – Agnieszka Smocynska (Poland)
“The Stranger” – Thomas M. Wright
“Volada Land” – Hlynur Pálmason (Iceland)
“The Worst” OR “Les Pires” – Lise Akora and Romane Gueret (France)

“Elvis” – Baz Luhrmann (U.S.-Australia)
“Final Cut” OR “Z (Comme Z)” – Michel Hazanavicius (France) – OPENER
“L’innocent” – Louis Garrel (France)
​”Mascarade” – Nicolas Bedos (France)
“November” – Cédric Jimenez (France)
“Three Thousand Years of Longing” – George Miller (Australia)
“Top Gun: Maverick” – Joseph Kosinski (U.S.)

“Fumer Fait Tousser” – Quentin Dupieux (France)
“Hunt” – Lee Jung-Jae (Sout Korea)
“Moonage Daydream” – Brett Morgen (U.S.)

“All That Breathes” – Shaunak Sen (India)
“The Natural History of Destruction” – Sergei Loznitsa (Ukraine)
“Jerry Lee Lewis: Trouble in Mind” – Ethan Coen (U.S.)

“Dodo” – Panos H. Koutras (Greece)
“Don Juan” – Serge Bozon (France)
“Irma Vep” – Olivier Assayas (France)
“Chronique d’une liaison passagère” – Emmanuel Mouret (France)
“Nightfall” – Marco Bellocchio (Italy)
“Nos Frangins” – Rachid Bouchareb (France)

“Aftersun” – Charlotte Wells (United Kingdom – United States)
“Alma Viva” – Cristèle Alves Meira (France – Portugal)
“La Jauría” – Andrés Ramírez Pulido (Colombia – France)
“Love According to Dalva” – Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium – France)
“Summer Scars” – Simon Rieth (France)
“Tasavor” (“Imagine”) – Ali Behrad (Iran)
“The Woodcutter Story” – Mikko Myllylahti (Finland – Denmark – Netherlands – Germany)

Special Screenings
“Da-eum-so-hee” (“Next Sohee”) – Jung July (South Korea) (Closing Film)
“Everybody Loves Jeanne” – Céline Devaux (France)
“Sons of Ramses” – Clément Cogitore (France)
When You Finish Saving the World” – Jesse Eisenberg (United States) (Opening Film)

Which films are you looking forward to the most? Are you planning to attend the festival this year? Either way, be sure to follow Amy Smith for her coverage on behalf of Next Best Picture for this year’s festival. Let us know in the comments section below or on our Twitter account.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews