Tuesday, April 23, 2024

The 2023 Costume Designers Guild (CDG) Winners

The Costume Designers Guild (CDG) have announced their winners representing the best in Costume Design for 2023. Here are this year’s winners…

Excellence in Contemporary Film
American Fiction” – Rudy Mance
May December” – April Napier
Nyad” – Kelli Jones
Renfield” – Lisa Lovaas
Saltburn” – Sophie Canale

Excellence in Period Film
Killers of the Flower Moon” – Jacqueline West
Maestro” – Mark Bridges
Napoleon” – Janty Yates & Dave Crossman
Oppenheimer” – Ellen Mirojnick
Poor Things” – Holly Waddington

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film
Barbie” – Jacqueline Durran
Haunted Mansion” – Jeffrey Kurland
The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes” – Trish Summerville
The Little Mermaid” – Colleen Atwood & Christine Cantella
Rebel Moon – Part One: A Child of Fire” – Stephanie Porter

Excellence in Contemporary Television
The Bear”: “Fishes” – Courtney Wheeler
Beef”: “The Birds Don’t Sing, They Screech in Pain” – Helen Huang
The Last of Us”: “Endure and Survive” – Cynthia Ann Summers
“The Morning Show”: “The Kármán Line” – Sophie de Rakoff & Debra McGuire
Poker Face”: “The Orpheus Syndrome” – Trayce Gigi Field

Excellence in Period Television
“The Crown”: “Ritz” – Amy Roberts
Daisy Jones & the Six”: “Track 8: Looks Like We Made It” – Denise Wingate
“George & Tammy”: “Two Story House” – Mitchell Travers
“The Gilded Age”: “You Don’t Even Like Opera” – Kasia Walicka Maimone & Patrick Wiley
“The Great”: “Choose Your Weapon” – Sharon Long

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television
“Ahsoka”: “Part Eight: The Jedi, the Witch, and the Warlord” – Shawna Trpcic
“Loki: 1893” – Christine Wada
“The Mandalorian”: “Chapter 22: Guns for Hire” – Shawna Trpcic
“What We Do in the Shadows”: “Pride Parade” – Laura Montgomery
“The Witcher”: “The Art of the Illusion” – Lucinda Wright

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television
“A Black Lady Sketch Show”: “Peek-A-Boob, Your Titty’s Out” – Michelle Page Collins
“Dancing with the Stars”: “Monster Night” – Steven Norman Lee & Daniela Gschwendtner
“The Masked Singer”: “’80s Night” – Tim Chappel
“The Masked Singer”: “One Hit Wonders Night” – Marina Toybina & Steven Norman Lee
“Saturday Night Live”: Aubrey Plaza Host – Tom Broecker, Christina Natividad & Ashley Dudek

Excellence in Short Form Design
“American Horror Story”: “Delicate” | Official Teaser (Commercial) – Paula Bradley
Blink 182 – “Dance With Me” (Music Video) – Julie Vogel
“Great Acting or Great Taste” – Pepsi (Commercial) – Heather Allison
“Jack’s New Angle” (Doritos Superbowl) (Commercial) – Trayce Gigi Field
“Madonna X Vanity Fair – The Enlightenment” (Short Film) – B. Åkerlund

Excellence in Costume Illustration
“1923”: “War and the Turquoise Tide” – Maggie S. Chan
Haunted Mansion” – Barbra Araujo
The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes” – Oksana Nedavniaya
“Loki: 1893” – Felipe Sanchez
Rebel Moon – Part One: A Child of Fire” – Jason Pastrana

What do you think of the winners? What do you think will win the Oscar for Best Costume Design? See our latest predictions here and please let us know your thoughts on our Twitter account. Click here for more important upcoming dates this awards season and here for the most recent tally of awards season winners for the current year.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Negliahttps://nextbestpicture.com/
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews