Sunday, July 14, 2024

The 2022 Oscar Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

The day has finally come! The Academy has announced their nominations for the 94th Academy Awards to be held on March 27th 2022. As always, there were surprises, shocks and snubs. We’ll have a podcast reaction posted tomorrow, a video of our live reactions posted to our Patreon today, write ups on the nominations posted today and updated winner prediction pages completed for you all shortly throughout the week.

​Click below to see the nominations.

​Best Picture
Belfast” – Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik and Tamar Thomas, Producers
CODA” – Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi and Patrick Wachsberger, Producers
Don’t Look Up” – Adam McKay and Kevin Messick, Producers
Drive My Car” – Teruhisa Yamamoto, Producer
Dune” – Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve and Cale Boyter, Producers
King Richard” – Tim White, Trevor White and Will Smith, Producers
Licorice Pizza” – Sara Murphy, Adam Somner and Paul Thomas Anderson, Producers
Nightmare Alley” – Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale and Bradley Cooper, Producers
The Power of the Dog” – Jane Campion, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Roger Frappier, Producers
West Side Story” Steven Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers

Best Director
Kenneth Branagh – “Belfast
Ryûsuke Hamaguchi – “Drive My Car
Paul Thomas Anderson – “Licorice Pizza
Jane Campion – “The Power of the Dog
Steven Spielberg – “West Side Story

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – “The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter
Penelope Cruz – “Parallel Mothers
Nicole Kidman – “Being The Ricardos
Kristen Stewart – “Spencer

Best Actor
Javier Bardem – “Being The Ricardos
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Power of the Dog
Andrew Garfield – “Tick, Tick…Boom!
Will Smith – “King Richard
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy of Macbeth

​Best Supporting Actress
​​​​Jessie Buckley – “The Lost Daughter
Ariana DeBose – “West Side Story
Judi Dench – “Belfast
Kirsten Dunst – “The Power of the Dog
Aunjanue Ellis – “King Richard

Best Supporting Actor
Ciarán Hinds – “Belfast
Troy Kotsur – “CODA
Jesse Plemons – “The Power of the Dog
J.K. Simmons – ​​”Being The Ricardos
Kodi Smit-McPhee – “The Power of the Dog

Best Original Screenplay
Belfast” – Written by Kenneth Branagh
“​Don’t Look Up” – Screenplay by Adam McKay; Story by Adam McKay & David Sirota
King Richard” – Written by Zach Baylin
Licorice Pizza” – Written by Paul Thomas Anderson
The Worst Person in the World” – Written by Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier

Best Adapted Screenplay
CODA” Screenplay by Siân Heder
Drive My Car Screenplay by Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe
Dune” Screenplay by Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth
The Lost Daughter” Written by Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog” Written by Jane Campion

Best Animated Feature
“​Encanto” – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino and Clark Spencer
Flee” – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie
Luca” – Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren
The Mitchells vs. the Machines” – Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Kurt Albrecht
Raya and the Last Dragon” – Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho

Best Documentary Feature
​​Ascension” – Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy and Nathan Truesdell
Attica” – Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry
Flee” Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie
Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)” – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein
Writing with Fire” – Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Best International Feature
“​Drive My Car” – Japan
Flee” – Denmark
The Hand of God” – Italy
Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom” – Bhutan
The Worst Person in the World” – Norway

Best Cinematography
Dune” – Greig Fraser
Nightmare Alley” – Dan Laustsen
The Power of the Dog” – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy Of Macbeth” Bruno Delbonnel
West Side Story” – Janusz Kaminski

Best Costume Design
Cruella” – Jenny Beavan
Cyrano” – Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran
Dune” – Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan
Nightmare Alley” – Luis Sequeira
West Side Story” – Paul Tazewell

Best Film Editing
Don’t Look Up” – Hank Corwin
Dune” – Joe Walker
King Richard” – Pamela Martin
The Power of the Dog” – Peter Sciberras
Tick, Tick…Boom!” – Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum

Best Makeup & Hairstyling
​​​​Coming 2 America” – Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer
Cruella” – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon
Dune” – Donald Mowat, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
The Eyes of Tammy Faye” – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh
House of Gucci” – Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras

Best Production Design
Dune” – Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos
Nightmare Alley” – Production Design: Tamara Deverell; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau
The Power of the Dog” – Production Design: Grant Major; Set Decoration: Amber Richards
The Tragedy of Macbeth” – Production Design: Stefan Dechant; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh
West Side Story” – Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo

Best Sound
​​​​Belfast” – Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri
Dune” – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett
No Time to Die” – Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor
The Power of the Dog” – Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb
West Side Story” – Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy

Best Visual Effects
Dune” – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer
Free Guy” – Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick
No Time to Die” – Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould
Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings” – Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver
Spider-Man: No Way Home” – Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick

Best Original Score
​​Don’t Look Up” – Nicholas Britell
Dune” – Hans Zimmer
Encanto” – Germaine Franco
Parallel Mothers” – Alberto Iglesias
The Power Of The Dog” – Jonny Greenwood

Best Original Song
“Be Alive” from “King Richard” – Music and Lyric by DIXSON and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter
“Dos Oruguitas” from “Encanto” – Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda
“Down To Joy” from “Belfast” – Music and Lyric by Van Morrison
“No Time To Die” from “No Time to Die” – Music and Lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell
“Somehow You Do” from “Four Good Days” – Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

Best Animated Short
“Affairs of the Art” – Joanna Quinn and Les Mills
“Bestia” – Hugo Covarrubias and Tevo Díaz
“Boxballet” – Anton Dyakov
“Robin Robin” – Dan Ojari and Mikey Please
“The Windshield Wiper” – Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sanchez

Best Documentary Short
“Audible” – Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean
“Lead Me Home” – Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk
“The Queen of Basketball” – Ben Proudfoot
“Three Songs for Benazir” – Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei
“When We Were Bullies” – Jay Rosenblatt

Best Live-Action Short
“Ala Kachuu – Take and Run” – Maria Brendle and Nadine Lüchinger
“The Dress” – Tadeusz Łysiak and Maciej Ślesicki
“The Long Goodbye” – Aneil Karia and Riz Ahmed
“On My Mind” – Martin Strange-Hansen and Kim Magnusson
“Please Hold” – K.D. Dávila and Levin Menekse

So what do you think? Did anything shock you? Which nominations were you most excited about? Let us know in the comments below or our Twitter account and be sure to check the Oscar Predictions pages for our early predicted winners soon.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews