Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The 2021 San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle (SFBAFCC) (formerly known as the San Francisco Film Critics Circle) have announced their winners for the best in film for 2021.

Click below to see the winners.

Best Picture
Drive My Car
The Green Knight
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog
West Side Story

Best Director
Denis Villeneuve – Dune
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Ryusuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Steven Spielberg – West Side Story

Best Original Screenplay
Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
C’mon Cmon – Mike Mills
Don’t Look Up – Adam McKay, David Sirota
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Adapted Screenplay
Drive My Car – Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe
Dune – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
Passing – Rebecca Hall
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Kristen Stewart – Spencer
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter
Penelope Cruz – Parallel Mothers
Tessa Thomson – Passing

Best Actor
Andrew Garfield – Tick, Tick … Boom!
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Denzel Washington – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Hidetoshi Nishijima – Drive My Car
Nicolas Cage – Pig
Will Smith – King Richard

Best Supporting Actress
Arianna DeBose – West Side Story
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog
Marlee Matlin – CODA
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor
Bradley Cooper – Licorice Pizza
Cirián Hinds – Belfast
J.K. Simmons – Being the Ricardos
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog
Troy Kotsur – CODA

Best Animated Feature
The Mitchells vs. The Machines

Best Foreign Language Film
A Hero
Drive My Car
Parallel Mothers
The Worst Person in the World

Best Documentary Feature
The Rescue
Summer of Soul
The Velvet Underground

Best Cinematography
Dune – Greg Fraser
The French Dispatch – Robert Yeoman
The Green Knight – Andrew Droz Palermo
Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel
West Side Story – Janusz Kaminski

Best Production Design
Dune – Patrice Vermette
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen
The Green Knight – Jade Healy
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Stefan Dechant

Best Film Editing
Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
The Power of the Dog – Peter Sciberras
West Side Story – Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn

Best Original Score
Dune – Hans Zimmer
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Green Knight – Daniel Hart
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood
Spencer – Jonny Greenwood

Marlon Riggs Award (For Bay Area filmmaker(s) or individual(s) who represents courage and innovation in the world of cinema)
Rita Moreno – “Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided To Go For It” & “West Side Story

Special Citation for Independent Cinema
Kuessipan (TIE)
Test Pattern (TIE)

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews