Wednesday, September 28, 2022

The 2021 Online Association Of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

​The Online Association of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) announced their nominees representing the best in film for 2021. The winners will be revealed on December 21st, 2021.

Click below to see the nominees.

Best Film
The Power Of The Dog
The Worst Person In The World

Best Director
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Jane Campion – The Power Of The Dog
Julia Ducournau – Titane
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Denis Villeneuve – Dune

Best Breakthrough Filmmaker
Maggie Gyllenhal – The Lost Daughter
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Natalie Morales – Language Lessons
Edson Oda – Nine Days
Emma Seligman – Shiva Baby

Best Breakthrough Performance
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones – CODA
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon
Agathe Rousselle – Titane
Saniyya Sidney – King Richard

Best Female Lead
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person In The World
Agathe Rousselle – Titane
Kristen Stewart – Spencer
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Best Male Lead
Nicolas Cage – Pig
Peter Dinklage – Cyrano
Andrew Garfield – Tick, Tick…Boom!
Joaquin Phoenix – C’mon C’mon
​Will Smith – King Richard

Best Supporting Female
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Ann Dowd – Mass
Kirsten Dunst – The Power Of The Dog
Riley Keough – Zola

Best Supporting Male
Colman Domingo – Zola
Jason Isaacs – Mass
Troy Kotsur – CODA
Kodi Smith-McPhee – The Power Of The Dog
Jeffrey Wright – The French Dispatch

Best Acting Ensemble
The French Dispatch
The Harder They Fall
The Power Of The Dog

Best Original Screenplay
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Julia Ducournau – Titane
Fran Kranz – Mass

Michael Sarnoski – Pig
Joachim Trier & Eskil Vogt – The Worst Person In The World

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion – The Power Of The Dog
Maggie Gyllenhal – The Lost Daughter
Sian Heder – CODA
Steven Levenson – Tick, Tick…Boom!
David Lowery – The Green Knight

Best Cinematography
Bruno Delbonnel – The Tragedy Of Macbeth
Andrew Droz Palermo – The Green Knight
Greig Fraser – Dune
Claire Mathon – Spencer
Ari Wegner – The Power Of The Dog

Best Animated Feature
Raya And The Last Dragon
The Mitchells vs. The Machines

Best Documentary
Summer Of Soul
The Rescue 

The OAFFC’s signature award celebrates the film that “best promotes women, their voices, and the female experience through cinema.”
I’m Your Man
Petite Maman
Shiva Baby
The Lost Daughter

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Reviews