Wednesday, June 19, 2024

The 2020 Online Association Of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

​The Online Association of Female Film Critics (OAFFC) announced their winners representing the best in film for 2020.

Click below to see the winners.

Best Film
First Cow
One Night In Miami
Promising Young Woman

Best Director
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Regina King – One Night In Miami
Kelly Reichardt – First Cow
Chloe Zhao – Nomadland

Best Male Lead
Riz Ahmed – Sound Of Metal
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods
Mads Mikkelsen – Another Round
Steven Yeun – Minari

Best Female Lead
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces Of A Woman
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Elisabeth Moss – The Invisible Man
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Male
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial Of The Chicago 7
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas And The Black Messiah
Bill Murray – On The Rocks
Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night In Miami
Paul Raci – Sound Of Metal

Best Supporting Female
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Ellen Burstyn – Pieces Of A Woman
Dominque Fishback – Judas And The Black Messiah
Amanda Seyfried – Mank
Yuh-jung Youn – Minari

Best Acting Ensemble
Da 5 Bloods
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
One Night In Miami
The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best Original Screenplay
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman (TIE)
Eliza Hittman – Never Rarely Sometimes Always (TIE)

Miranda July – Kajillionaire
Andy Siara – Palm Springs

Best Adapted Screenplay
Sarah Gubbin – Shirley
Christopher Hampton & Florian Zeller – The Father
Charlie Kaufman – I’m Thinking Of Ending Things

Kemp Powers – One Night In Miami
Chloe Zhao – Nomadland

Best Documentary
Dick Johnson Is Dead
The Mole Agent
The Painter And The Thief

Best Animated Feature
Over The Moon
A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Best Cinematography
Christopher Blauvelt – First Cow
Stephane Fontaine – Ammonite
Matthew Libatique – Birds Of Prey
Erik Messerschmidt – Mank
Joshua James Richards – Nomadland

Best Breakthrough Filmmaker
Kitty Green – The Assistant
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version
Channing Godfrey Peoples – Miss Juneteenth
Natalie Erika James – Relic

Best Breakthrough Performance
Kingsley Ben-Adir – One Night In Miami
Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Orion Lee – First Cow
Cristin Milioti – Palm Springs
Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian

The OAFFC’s signature award celebrates the film that “best promotes women, their voices, and the female experience through cinema.”
The Assistant
The Forty-Year-Old Version
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Promising Young Woman

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews