Sunday, May 26, 2024

The 2020 New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2020.

Click below to see the full list of winners.

​Best Film
First Cow

Best Director
Chloé Zhao Nomadland

Best Screenplay
Eliza Hittman – Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Actress
Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Actor
Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods

Best Supporting Actress
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Best Supporting Actor
Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods

Best Cinematography
Small Axe (All Films)
​Best Animated Feature

Best Non-Fiction Film

Best Foreign Language Film

Best First Film
The Forty-Year-Old-Version

Special Awards

  • Kino Lorber, for their creation of Kino Marquee, a virtual cinema distribution service that was designed to help support movie theaters, not destroy them.
  • Spike Lee for inspiring the New York community with his short film “New York New York” and for advocating for a better society through cinema.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews