Thursday, July 18, 2024

The 2019 USC Scripter Award Winner

By Matt Neglia 

The 2019 USC Scripter Winner honoring the best in Adapted Screenplays and their source material for 2018 has been announced.

Click below to see the winner.

  • Screenwriters Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole for “Black Panther,” based on the character created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby
  • Screenwriters Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty and author Lee Israel for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
  • Screenwriters Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, and David Schneider for “The Death of Stalin,” based on the graphic novel by Fabien Nury and Thierry Robin
  • Screenwriter Barry Jenkins and author James Baldwin for “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Screenwriters Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini for “Leave No Trace” based on the novel “My Abandonment” by Peter Rock.

For the full list of winners including television click here.

With “Leave No Trace” not having an Oscar nomination this year, we now must look forward to tomorrow’s BAFTA winner and the WGA for the picture to become more clear in Best Adapted Screenplay. What a shocker! No winner for this award has missed a correlating Oscar nomination since 1999 for “The Hurricane.”

Let us know your thoughts in the comments below or on our Twitter account. You can also see our current predictions for Best Adapted Screenplay here.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews