Friday, May 17, 2024

The 2019 Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) Nominations

By Matt Neglia 

The Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) have announced their nominees representing the best in film for 2019. The winners will be announced January 2nd 2019.

Click below to see the nominees.

Best Film
The Farewell
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Knives Out
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Uncut Gems
Best Director
Bong Joon -ho – Parasite
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Sam Mendes – 1917
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Actor
Robert De Niro – The Irishman
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Robert Pattinson – The Lighthouse
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems
Best Actress
Awkwafina – The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Florence Pugh – Midsommar
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell
Best Ensemble
The Irishman
Knives Out
Little Women
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
Adam Driver – The Dead Don’t Die, Marriage Story, The ReportStar Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker
Kelvin Harrison Jr. – Luce & Waves
Scarlett Johansson – Avengers: Endgame, Captain Marvel, Jojo Rabbit & Marriage Story
Brad Pitt – Ad Astra & Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Florence Pugh – Fighting with My Family, Little WomenMidsommar
Breakthrough Film Artist
Rowan Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit – (for acting)
Julia Fox – Uncut Gems – (for acting)
Florence Pugh – Fighting with My Family, Little Women & Midsommar – (for acting)
Honor Swinton Byrne – The Souvenir – (for acting)
Joe Talbot – The Last Black Man in San Francisco – (for directing, producing & screenwriting)
Lulu Wang – The Farewell – (for directing, producing & screenwriting)
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart – (for directing)
Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse
Roger Deakins – 1917
Hong Kyung-pyo – Parasite
Pawel Pogorzelski – Midsommar
Robert Richardson – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Hoyte Van Hoytema – Ad Astra
Best Film Editing
Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems
Bob Ducsay – Knives Out
Fred Raskin – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Lee Smith – 1917
Yang Jin-mo – Parasite
Best Adapted Screenplay
Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Lorene Scafaria – Hustlers
Taiki Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Steve Zaillian – The Irishman
Best Original Screenplay
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won – Parasite
Rian Johnson – Knives Out
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Lulu Wang – The Farewell
Best Score
Michael Abels – Us
Alexandre Desplat – Little Women
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Joker
Randy Newman – Marriage Story
Thomas Newman – 1917
Best Documentary
Amazing Grace
American Factory
Apollo 11
One Child Nation
Best Foreign Language Film
Les Misérables
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Best Animated Film
Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4
Best Overlooked Film
Her Smell
The Last Black Man in San Francisco
Missing Link
Ready or Not
Wild Rose

​​You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews