Tuesday, June 18, 2024

The 2018 Writers Guild Of America (WGA) Winners

By Matt Neglia

​The Writers Guild Of America (WGA) have announced their 2018 winners representing the best in screenwriting.

Click below to see the winners for Original and Adapted Screenplay.

Best Original Screenplay
Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor – The Shape Of Water
​Greta Gerwig – 
Lady Bird
Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani – The Big Sick
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Steven Rogers – I, Tonya

Best Adapted Screenplay
Scott Frank & James Mangold – Logan
James Ivory – Call Me by Your Name
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber – The Disaster Artist
Aaron Sorkin – Molly’s Game
Virgil Williams and Dee Rees – Mudbound

For the full list of winners, including documentary and television, click here. So now that we know the winners, the last stop is BAFTA for the writing categories. What do you think is going to happen there? How does Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri factor into all of this since it was not eligible for the Best Original Screenplay category here at the WGA? What are your predictions for Best Original and Best Adapted Screenplay? Let us know in the comments below.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Negliahttps://nextbestpicture.com/
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews