Sunday, June 16, 2024

The 2018 Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) have announced their winners representing the best in film for 2018.

Click below to see the winners.

Best Film
1. If Beale Street Could Talk
2. BlacKkKlansman
3. The Favourite
4. Eighth Grade
5. Roma
6. Black Panther
7. Widows
8. A Quiet Place
9. First Man
10. Hereditary
Best Director
Bradley Cooper, A Star is Born
Alfonso Cuarón, Roma (WINNER)
Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite
Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman (RUNNER-UP)
Steve McQueen, Widows
Best Actor
Christian Bale, Vice
Bradley Cooper, A Star is Born
Ben Foster, Leave No Trace (WINNER)
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed (RUNNER-UP)

Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here
John David Washington, BlacKkKlansman
Best Actress
Glenn Close, The Wife
Olivia Colman, The Favourite (WINNER)
Toni Collette, Hereditary
Viola Davis, Widows
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade (RUNNER-UP)
Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (RUNNER-UP)

Thomasin McKenzie, Leave No Trace
Best Supporting Actor
Timothée Chalamet, Beautiful Boy
Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman
Sam Elliott, A Star is Born
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (WINNER)
Michael B. Jordan, Black Panther (RUNNER-UP)

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, Vice
Elizabeth Debicki, Widows
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)
Emma Stone, The Favourite (RUNNER-UP)
Rachel Weisz, The Favourite
Best Ensemble
Black Panther
The Favourite (WINNER)
If Beale Street Could Talk
Widows (RUNNER-UP)
Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
Emily Blunt (Mary Poppins ReturnsA Quiet Place & Sherlock Gnomes) (RUNNER-UP)
Ethan Hawke (BlazeFirst Reformed, and Juliet, Naked)
Lucas Hedges (Ben is BackBoy Erased & Mid90s)
Bryan Tyree Henry (Hotel ArtemisIf Beale Street Could TalkSpider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse & Widows) (WINNER)
Joaquin Phoenix (Don’t Worry, He Won’t Get Far on FootThe Sisters Brothers & You Were Never Really Here)
Tessa Thompson (AnnihilationCreed II & Sorry to Bother You)
Breakthrough Film Artist
Ari Aster, Hereditary – (for directing and screenwriting)
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade – (for directing and screenwriting) (WINNER)
Bradley Cooper, A Star is Born – (for directing, screenwriting, and acting)
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade – (for acting)
John Krasinski, A Quiet Place – (for directing, screenwriting, and acting)
Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You – (for directing and screenwriting) (RUNNER-UP)
Best Cinematography
Alfonso Cuarón, Roma (WINNER)
James Laxton, If Beale Street Could Talk
Pawel Pogorzelski, Hereditary
Robbie Ryan, The Favourite
Linus Sandgren, First Man (RUNNER-UP)
Best Film Editing
Debbie Berman and Michael P. Shawver, Black Panther
Tom Cross, First Man
Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough, Roma (RUNNER-UP)
Yorgos Mavropsaridis, The Favourite (RUNNER-UP)

Joe Walker, Widows (WINNER)
Best Adapted Screenplay
Gillian Flynn & Steve McQueen, Widows
Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk
Phil Lord & Rodney Rothman, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (RUNNER-UP)
Oh Jung-mi & Lee Chang-dong, Burning (RUNNER-UP)

Eric Roth and Bradley Cooper & Will Fetters, A Star is Born
Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Wilmott & Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman (WINNER)       
Best Original Screenplay
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade (WINNER)
Alfonso Cuarón, Roma
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, The Favourite (RUNNER-UP)
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Bryan Woods & Scott Beck and John Krasinski, A Quiet Place
Best Score
Terence Blanchard, BlacKkKlansman
Nicholas Britell, If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)
Ludwig Göransson, Black Panther
Justin Hurwitz, First Man
Jóhann Jóhannsson, Mandy
Anna Meredith, Eighth Grade (RUNNER-UP)
Best Documentary
Free Solo (RUNNER-UP)
Minding the Gap
Science Fair
Shirkers (WINNER)
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Best Foreign Language Film
Burning (RUNNER-UP)
Cold War
Let the Sunshine In
Shoplifters (WINNER)
Best Animated Film
Incredibles 2 (RUNNER-UP)
Isle of Dogs
Ralph Breaks the Internet
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (WINNER)
Teen Titans Go! To the Movies
Best Overlooked Film
Leave No Trace (RUNNER-UP)
Private Life (WINNER)

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews