Sunday, March 3, 2024

The 2018 British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) Winners

By Matt Neglia 

The winners of the 2018 British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) have been announced and Yorgos Lanthimos’ film “The Favourite” lead with 5 wins.

Click below to see the winners.

Best British Independent Film
American Animals
The Favourite
You Were Never Really Here

Best Director
Andrew Haigh – Lean on Pete
Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite
Bart Layton – American Animals
Michael Pearce – Beast
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here

Best Actress
Gemma Arterton – The Escape
Jessie Buckley – Beast
Olivia Colman – The Favourite
Maxine Peake – Funny Cow
Rachel Weisz – Disobedience

Best Actor
Joe Cole – A Prayer Before Dawn
Steve Coogan – Stan & Ollie
Rupert Everett – The Happy Prince
Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here
Charlie Plummer – Lean on Pete

Best Screenplay
Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara – The Favourite
Sebastian Lelio, Rebecca Lenkiewicz – Disobedience
Bart Layton – American Animals
Michael Pearce – Beast
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here

Best Supporting Actress
Nina Arianda – Stan & Ollie
Rachel McAdams – Disobedience
Emma Stone – The Favourite
Rachel Weisz – The Favourite
Molly Wright – Apostasy

Best Supporting Actor
Steve Buscemi – Lean on Pete
Barry Keoghan – American Animals
Alessandro Nivola – Disobedience
Evan Peters – American Animals
Dominic West – Colette

Best Documentary
Being Frank: The Chris Sievy Story
Nae Pasaran
Under The Wire

Most Promising Newcomer
Jessie Buckley – Beast
Michaela Coel  Been So Long
Liv Hill – Jellyfish
Marcus Rutherford – Obey
Molly Wright – Apostasy

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Richard Billingham – Ray & Liz
Daniel Kokotajlo  Apostasy
Matt Palmer –  Calibre
Michael Pearce  Beast
Leanne Welhem – Pili

Debut Screenwriter
Karen Gillan  The Party’s Just Beginning
Daniel Kokotajlo  Apostasy
Bart Layton  American Animals
Matt Palmer  Calibre
Michael Pearce  Beast

Breakthrough Producer
Kristian Brodie  Beast
Jacqui Davis – Ray & Liz
Anna Griffin  Calibre
Marcie Macellan  Apostasy
Faye Warn  Stan & Ollie

The Discovery Award
The Dig
Irene’s Ghost
A Moment In The Reeds
Super November

Best British Short Film
The Big Day
Bitter Sea
The Field
To Know Him

Best International Independent Film
Cold War
The Rider

​The technical winners which were announced on November 15th can be found here.

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews