Monday, September 25, 2023

The 2017 Phoenix Critics Circle (PCC) Nominations

By Matt Neglia

The Phoenix Critics Circle (PCC) have announced their nominations for the best in film for 2017. Their winners will be revealed on December 16th.

Click below to see the nominees.

​Best Picture
The Florida Project
Lady Bird
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Comedy Film
The Big Sick
The Disaster Artist
I, Tonya
Lady Bird
Logan Lucky

Best Science Fiction Film
Blade Runner 2049
The Shape of Water
War for the Planet of the Apes

Best Horror Film
Get Out
Hounds of Love
It Comes at Night

​Best Mystery or Thriller Film
The Beguiled
Get Out
The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Murder on the Orient Express
The Post
Wind River

Best Animated Film
“The Breadwinner”
Cars 3
The Lego Batman Movie
Loving Vincent

Best Foreign Language Film
BPM (Beats Per Minute)
In the Fade
The Square

Best Documentary
“City of Ghosts”
Whose Streets

Best Actor
Timothée Chalamet – “Call Me by Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis – “Phantom Thread
James Franco – “
The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Gary Oldman – “Darkest Hour
Harry Dean Stanton – “Lucky

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – “Molly’s Game
Sally Hawkins – “
The Shape of Water
Frances McDormand – “
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Margot Robbie – 
I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan – “Lady Bird

​Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe – “The Florida Project
Armie Hammer – 
Call Me by Your Name
Richard Jenkins – “The Shape of Water
Sam Rockwell – “
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Michael Stuhlbarg –
Call Me by Your Name

Best Supporting Actress
Mary J. Blige – “Mudbound
Holly Hunter – “The Big Sick
Allison Janney –
I, Tonya
Laurie Metcalf – “Lady Bird
Octavia Spencer – “
The Shape of Water

Best Director
Sean Baker – “The Florida Project
Guillermo del Toro – “
The Shape of Water
Greta Gerwig – “
Lady Bird
Christopher Nolan – “
Jordan Peele – 
Get Out
Edgar Wright – “Baby Driver

Best Screenplay
Greta Gerwig – “Lady Bird
Liz Hannah and Josh Singer – “The Post
Martin McDonagh – “
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Jordan Peele – “
Get Out
Aaron Sorkin – “Molly’s Game

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat – “The Shape of Water
Jonny Greenwood – “
Phantom Thread
Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer – “Blade Runner 2049
Hans Zimmer – “

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars & Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Neglia
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews