Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Our 2020 Gotham Award predictions

By Matt Neglia 

The 30th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards will take place tonight in a virtual ceremony as they reward the best in independent film for 2020. The Next Best Picture team has provided their predictions for tonight’s show.

​Click below to see what we think will win tonight.

Predictions provided by: Casey Lee Clark, Cody Dericks, Dan Bayer, Josh Parham, Matt Neglia, Michael Schwartz, Nicole Ackman, Ryan C. Showers & Tom O’Brien

​Best Feature
The Assistant
First Cow (Casey & Dan)
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Nomadland (Cody, Josh, Matt, Michael, Nicole, Ryan & Tom)

Best Documentary
76 Days (Matt)
City Hall
Our Time Machine
A Thousand Cuts
Time (Casey, Cody, Dan, Josh, Michael, Nicole, Ryan & Tom)

Best International Feature
Bacurau (Casey, Josh, Nicole, Ryan & Tom)
Beanpole (Dan)
Cuties (Mignonnes)
Identifying Features
Martin Eden (Michael)
Wolfwalkers (Cody & Matt)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version (Casey, Cody, Josh, Michael, Nicole, Ryan & Tom)
Channing Godfrey Peoples – Miss Juneteenth
Alex Thompson – Saint Frances
Carlo Mirabella-Davis – Swallow (Dan)
Andrew Patterson – The Vast of Night (Matt)

Best Screenplay
Bad Education – Mike Makowsky
First Cow – Jon Raymond & Kelly Reichardt (Casey, Cody, Josh, Matt, Michael, Nicole, Ryan & Tom)
The Forty-Year-Old Version – Radha Blank (Dan)
Fourteen – Dan Sallitt
The Vast of Night – James Montague & Craig Sanger

Best Actor
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal (Casey, Michael, Ryan & Tom)
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Cody, Dan, Josh, Matt & Nicole)
Jude Law – The Nest
John Magaro – First Cow
Jesse Plemons – I’m Thinking of Ending Things

Best Actress
Nicole Beharie – Miss Juneteenth (Josh & Michael)
Jessie Buckley – I’m Thinking of Ending Things (Tom)
Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari (Matt & Ryan)
Carrie Coon – The Nest (Casey & Dan)
Frances McDormand – Nomadland (Cody & Nicole)

Breakthrough Actor
Jasmine Batchelor – The Surrogate
Kingsley Ben-Adir – One Night in Miami… 
Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always (ALL)
Orion Lee – First Cow
Kelly O’Sullivan – Saint Frances

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)
The Great (Nicole)
Immigration Nation
P-Valley (Josh & Michael)
Unorthodox (Dan & Tom)
Watchmen (Casey, Cody, Matt & Ryan)

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)
I May Destroy You (ALL)
Taste the Nation
Work in Progress

So what do you all think? Who do you think will win at tonight’s Gotham awards? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below or on our Twitter account. Enjoy the show!

You can follow Matt and hear more of his thoughts on the Oscars and Film on Twitter at @NextBestPicture

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!

Matt Neglia
Matt Negliahttps://nextbestpicture.com/
Obsessed about the Oscars, Criterion Collection and all things film 24/7. Critics Choice Member.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Reviews